Top Ten 2014 Resolutions

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Edit: 10PM Monday night. I screwed this up and did next week’s prompt! So since I only have mobile and can’t write a post properly, I’ll just leave it and do the Top Ten of 2013 next week. Whoopsies!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014 (bookish, not bookish or a blend). I’m going to split it down the middle – five bookish resolutions and five life resolutions.

Book/Blogging resolutions

1. Only read what I want to read. Don’t request ARCs that I only have partial interest in, and DNF if I have to!

2. Take my time and enjoy my books. When I started reading again, I inhaled a book a day, sometimes two. And the truth is that I burnt out really fast. So I want to try and slow down a bit – be okay with not reading four hours a day. Savor the read! (Though if it’s amazing, I can’t promise I won’t stay up till 2 AM to finish it)

3. Don’t freak out about stats. My views have been up and down lately – with the downs being uncharacteristically low. Just realize that people have lives and my blog probably isn’t the most important thing to them!

4. Interact more! I’ve been so tired lately that I have a hard time leaving comments like I used to. I want to get back into tweeting and commenting and making even more blogging friends!

5. Stay in contact with the blogging friends I’ve made. Whether that means guest posts, having bookish chats, or just emailing/tweeting each other every once in a while – just stay in contact. I’ve met so many lovely people and I don’t want to lose them just because I’m shy!

Life Resolutions

6. Get back to the gym. I know it’s so cliche, but I really do need to do this. Since that thing happened in the summer, life’s gone crazy, and I’ve gained ten pounds. I want that off, plus some more!

7. Be more prepared. This relates specifically to my teaching position. I want to make sure I get ahead on planning so I’m not cramming at the last minute and feeling like I’m breathless every time I walk into a classroom. 

8. Get healthy, mentally and physically. I guess this is kind of linked to #6, but not really. Mostly dealing with the anxiety/panic/depression, which leads into the headaches, neck stiffness, chest pain, and exhaustion. No more of that please!

9. Write my book. I’ve got two beta readers that keep asking me for chapters, and it’s high time I sat down and wrote this thing. It’s time to ignore all the voices, both in my head and what other people say, and do what I really want to with my life.

10. Pay off my debts. You know you’re an adult when money makes it to your list of resolutions. I want to get rid of those student loans!

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten 2014 Resolutions

    • It makes such a difference 🙂 There are some times when I have to say, “Okay it’s time to read a NetGalley book” but it’s so much more balanced now and I don’t grumble when I do have to read the NG books. Plus, requesting the ones that I only truly want to read has made it a lot easier!

  1. I like the mix of life and blog resolutions! Good luck with all of them. I think i actually don’t focus enough on my stats. I share your concern about balancing reading, writing,and interacting with other bloggers — I feel like I never do enough of the last. Happy New Year!

  2. I am with you 100% for all these resolutions! Speed reading is exhausting and I know blog stats stress me like crazy! And yes, more chapters for the hungry beta readers! 😀
    Happy New Year Kayla and let’s have a rocking year of blogging, reading, writing and small talks!

    • Speed reading is just a nightmare, honestly. I used to love it, but only because I was reading one book a month when I was in college, if that. But now I read so much that everything blurs together and I can’t appreciate what I read!

      I’m hoping to start soon 🙂 I can’t decide if I want to write the book I sent you the first chapter of, or do something else. For some reason I’m just… not feeling it. I can’t explain why! It’s just so strange.

      Happy New Year to you as well!

  3. I haven’t done a great job of thinking through my goals for the new year, but these are some great ones! As far as writing your book… ***you can do it!*** I have to remind myself constantly when I write that it’s OK if it’s crappy at first, that I have time to edit and revise and do it all again before the world sees it. But how encouraging that you have beta readers asking you for more!

    • Thank you!!! And that’s some great advice – I need to tape it on my computer or something. And my beta readers are awesome! I hadn’t even expected it, but they asked for a chapter when they found out I wrote and then immediately begged for more! It was a really great boost 🙂

  4. Great book resolutions! I miss taking my time with books and reading what I want. But overall, I love how all your goals focus on being healthy, happy and reducing stress. Best of luck for 2014, Kayla! (:

    • I think it’s a sign of a good friendship 😉 Shipping and caps make a beautiful bond!

      AND I PROMISE I’M TRYING I’M TRYING. I plan on uber-prepping for my next semester of teaching so that I’ll have lots of extra time in the next few months to really buckle down and write that book 😀

  5. I think these are great resolutions! Especially the ones about not stressing out and trying not to worry :p That’s been a big part of my problem this year and led to an abundance of health problems. No bueno. I hope your 2014 is an amazing year and you can do all of the things you want!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

