Weekly Update 10 – Richelle Mead edition! (January 5)

Hi there! Once again, it’s Sunday, and time for my weekly wrap up post, where I recap everything of note that’s happened in the last seven days, including my Stacking the Shelves post.

So I’m going to stop apologizing for not making a vlog every week. I just don’t have the time anymore! If I ever can do one, then I will, but it might be spotty. HOWEVER!!! Veronica stayed over on New Year’s Eve and we filmed a video together – with at least 50% of it being bloopers of us laughing and/or making stupid jokes. She’s editing it this weekend *hopefully* and then I’ll post it sometime this week *hopefully*!

Currently reading:Β Blood Promise – I’m working through these last three books in the VA series. I’m so afraid of what’s going to happen next that I keep putting it off! I read the first two books in the Pushing the Limits series instead, but now it’s time to get back to VA. Otherwise Veronica might come over and force my nose into the book until I finish it πŸ˜‰

Currently listening to:Β Mostly I’ve put my Fall Out Boy albums on shuffle and listened to whatever song comes up next. Some of my favorites right now though are “Miss Missing You” and “From Now On We Are Enemies”.

Currently watching:Β The Hobbit *again* and Supernatural season 4.

Currently eating/drinking:Β As part of my “let’s get healthy” resolution, I’ve been drinking this shake every morning that’s made of spinach, banana, and apple juice. Supposedly it flushes out the system and helps you lose weight, and it better work because that stuff isΒ nasty. So for lunch I’m making my favorite – chicken salad with cranberries and apples!

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Check out her blog here! Basically, it’s a time where I get to show off all the books I got in the past week (purchased, netgalley, borrowed, etc).

So I thought my big haul was over now that Christmas passed, but it turned out that this week was another big one! And funnily enough most of the books were by Richelle Mead. It’s a VA/BL week over here!

Purchased:

photo 3

With the last bit of my Christmas money, I bought the VA boxed set for myself, with the new covers! Since I’m such Β snob πŸ˜‰ And since I already had the first book thanks to Veronica, I was able to replace the awful movie cover version.

photo 2

And my other Mead purchases – the first four books of the Bloodlines series, plus Gameboard of the Gods (no dust jacket). This was an unexpected buy, but they were super cheap so I just had to splurge!

Won:

photo 4

A few weeks ago I won the Mystery Holiday ARC giveaway from Read, Breathe, Relax, and I was so excited to see that they showed up while I was at work! There was only supposed to be five, but I got an extra one apparently so that was super cool. I recognize three of the six, and about had a heart attack when I saw How to Love in there. I’ve been wanting to read that one for a while, and now I can!

Gifted:

photo 1

Veronica cleared out her bookshelves and gifted me with a few of her contemporaries πŸ™‚ They look cute, and I’m especially excited for Other Words for Love.

NetGalley:Β 

Coming This Week

  • Monday – Review of Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday
  • Wednesday – Review of Frostbite (VA #2) by Richelle Mead
  • Thursday – Discussion Post
  • Friday – Review of Ignite by Erica Crouch

As always, this is a rough schedule, and I may add more or skip a day depending on how life rolls.

So now that I’ve shown off my incredibly amazing book week, what about you? Any special book buys this week?Β 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Update 10 – Richelle Mead edition! (January 5)

  1. I’ve bought no books this week. Book buying bans are great for self-control. πŸ˜€
    I’m so happy that you got so many books! You have all of Richelle Mead’s book! πŸ˜€ YAY!!! I hate that movie poster cover! :3
    I’ll be checking out Other Words of Love. Sounds interesting! πŸ˜€ And READ CRUEL BEAUTY!! I can’t wait to read it. That cover kills me! πŸ˜‰

    • Well I was on one, and did very well in December, but when you have extra Christmas money… Well, obviously this is what happens XD

      I actually had never looked at Cruel Beauty before, but I’m really excited to read it now!

  2. I’m on my 5th book of VA series and I don’t want to read it *cries* Blood Promise made me feel a lot of emotions. I can’t. I just can’t.

    And oh my god!!! HOW TO LOVE. One of my favorite books last year. I want it. I want it so bad. But the bookstores here in my country kind of sucks. -_-

    • Oh no O_O Now I’m terrified! Ahhh I guess I’ll just have to brave the tears.

      Is it really good?? I’m so glad to hear that! Does Book Depository ship to you? That would probably work!

      • Yes, book depository ships to us. But I’m sort of hesitant to order online.. I’m afraid my book will get lost hahaha -_- I live here in the Philippines and I heard sometimes it takes 1 month or 2 months before you get your book. I don’t think I can wait that long! 😦

      • Yes, book depository ships to us. But I’m sort of hesitant to order online.. I’m afraid my book will get lost hahaha -_- I live here in the Philippines and I heard sometimes it takes 1 month or 2 months before you get your book. I don’t think I can wait that long! 😦

  3. Lovely stack of Richelle Mead books! I prefer the original covers too- not a fan of movie editions. I’m a little over halfway through How to Love and it’s pretty good! Hope you like it too. Great book haul!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

