Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013. Since I messed up and did this week’s prompt last week, I’m doing last week’s now 🙂 If that makes sense!

1. Champion by Marie Lu. I loved the entire series, but this conclusion was absolutely breathtaking. I wouldn’t have changed a single thing, although I wouldn’t have minded a bit more epilogue! I need another book, to be honest.

2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. I loved Shadow and Bone, but Siege and Storm has three things that the first book doesn’t: Sturmhond, Tolya, and Tamar. ‘Nuff said. 

3. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson. Oh my world building. I loved every single page of this book, and can’t wait for Firefight this fall.

4. Flat Out Love by Jessica Park. Matt, his t-shirts, and font nerds. I swooned so hard. It’s heartbreaking and incredibly happy, all at the same time. I actually read two books by Park this last year, and I enjoyed Flat Out Love more than Left Drowning.

5. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. Veronica bought me this one for Christmas, and I about cried when it showed up on my porch. I loved Lola even more than Anna and the French Kiss, and read it all in one sitting.

6. Angelfall by Susan Ee. Angels, apocalypse, Raffe. That’s all I need in this world.

7. White Like Milk, Red Like Blood by Alessandro D’Avenia. This one was billed as an Italian TFiOS, and I honestly think it was better than that. I really wish they were publishing it in paperback form, but for right now there’s only ebook versions.

8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This was one of the first paranormal I read in several years, and it set the bar really high for any others! I loved all the characters, and the mystery. It was just perfect.

9. Cracked by Eliza Crewe. Hooray for debut authors! Cracked had me laughing, crying, and holding my breath throughout the entire book. I loved the mythology, and the anti-heroine was PERFECT.

10. Altered by Jennifer Rush. Andi really pushed me to read this one, and I’m so glad I did. It’s genetic manipulation, which is a subject that completely fascinates me, and a little bit of dystopian/escape. Another cast of characters that I loved as well.

Bonus! 11. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry. Who would have thought I’d go over ten books for a contemporary?? 2013 certainly was the year for change! I blame Veronica and Andi. I absolutely adored McGarry’s writing, and the romance was totally swoon-worthy. I just finished Pushing the Limits and Dare You To, and they probably would have been on this list except for the fact that I read them in the first few days of 2014.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

