How’s Life? Let’s Catch Up!

It’s been a while since I talked about life and personal stuff in general, so I figured we could all catch up and just chat for a day. Or: I’m sick and have had a fever for two days straight so I don’t feel like putting in the effort to write about the topic I had actually chosen for today. You know, take your pick!

So how’s life, my fellow bloggers? Mine’s actually going pretty well, finally. We’re on our last week of Christmas break at school, and I have most of my class prep done. And hopefully this semester I’ll be more prepared, so I don’t get stressed out the night before I walk into the classroom! My anxiety levels are starting to even out, and I’ve been breathing easier. Once I started drinking more water, my headaches became more manageable too. So there’s two New Year’s Resolutions off to a good start: less procrastination and more health!

Honestly the most stressful thing I’ve had to do lately is call in sick to work. Which is apparently not a big deal but it was the only time I’ve done that in a year and a half of working there. My last few days have been spent on the couch, watching the entire X-Men movie series. Thrilling, isn’t it? I thought so.

Last thought for the day, since I’m feeling speculative: I read a post on tumblr a while ago that asked why guys don’t buy girls books at bookstores like they do drinks at bars. I thought it was brilliant. Do you know how easy it would be to get a date with me if you bought me a book? I’d give you a smile so wide my face would break.

On second thought, I probably would scare away any available male in the vicinity.

I’ll stop rambling now – I thought I was a lot more coherent than this. I think it’s time for more medication! Fun fact: I get loopy even off the holistic remedies.

Another fun fact: I laughed so hard when I found that gif – apparently laughing triggers coughing, and sick-laughing sounds more like you’re dying than being entertained.

25 thoughts on “How’s Life? Let’s Catch Up!

  1. Being sick really sucks. I am sending you virtual tissues, and cough syrup, and some vegetable soup. Although, I must say: watching all the X-Men movies isn’t exactly torture. There are too many good looking men for it ever to be a chore to watch those movies πŸ˜€
    I have seen that post on Tumblr, too. But since only one bookstore has survived in my city and it is tiny and the selection is crap and I have never seen a male my age inside them – I hold absolutely no hope of this ever happening to me. BUT if it did, I am pretty sure there would be a severe and dramatic case of the insta-love. I mean, especially if he just plucked it out of your hands and bought it for you. *ULTIMATE SWOONAGE* Siiiiiiiiiiiigh.

    • Aww thank you love πŸ™‚ It’s really the medication that’s awful – the doctor put me on a steroid inhaler and I don’t react well to that stuff. Makes my stomach hurt 😦

      Mmmm Iceman.

      AHHH stupid boys don’t they know they need to expand their horizons and walk into a bookstore???

      • The inhalers aren’t bad… It’s just learning to breathe in at the same time you squeeze the thing haha. But they took me off that and put me on a nebulizer (which is like an inhaler but 10x stronger) so now I’m still nauseous but at least I can stop coughing!

      • Hopefully you’ll never have to get contacts then!!!

        Oh yeah I’m doing a lot better today! I used to be sick like this all the time so I’m an old pro πŸ˜‰ The nebulizer just gets the medicine into the deep parts of my lungs so I can stop coughing and start breathing πŸ™‚

  2. Aw I hope you’re feeling better! ❀ Oh I totally agree, I would be swooning so much if a guy offered to buy me a book. I guess maybe it might seem kind of creepy since you know obviously when someone buys you a drink what they want but for a book, it might come across as overstepping boundaries? Or maybe it's the fact that it happens so rarely! Haha

  3. I hope you’re getting better. And I personally like the X-men movies so yes, it is thrilling. πŸ˜›
    And I would definitely want a man who buys me books at bookstores! Although I don’t think a guy would want to stay with me when I’m a bookstore. I take forever looking at all of the pretty books. Lol.
    P.S. I love TBBT so I love your gifs.

  4. Wow, you’re still on Christmas break where you work? I want to work there! The school I work for started back this past Monday, though we had 2 hour delays on Tuesday and Wednesday. If only school could start at 10:00 instead of 8:00 every day! Sorry to hear you’re sick though. I hate calling in sick to work, mostly because I don’t trust any substitute to run my library the way I want it to be run (is that awful of me?) Feel better soon!
    Your gifs of Sheldon are fantastic, by the way.

  5. Great to hear that your resolutions are off to a good start! I carry a bottle of water with me everywhere nowadays. It’s surprising how such a simple thing can make you feel so much better!
    Being sick with X-men doesn’t sound so bad. πŸ˜›
    Don’t want to sound snobby or anything, buuutttt, a guy has totally bought me a book for me before. Literally just took it out of my hands and paid for it.
    Not even joking.

    Hope you feel better soon, Kayla!

  6. I hope you get well very soon, Kayla! My life has been going great so far, and it’s really a wonder how refreshing a new semester is. It feels as if there is less schoolwork, haha! If a guy bought me a book at the bookstore, even if it was only a dollar and from the clearance bin, I would develop an immediate crush. And get really nervous, and stutter my way through the conversation…

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

