I’m Back!

Hello all! I can’t believe it’s already been two weeks since I went on my break – time really does fly! I’m feeling a lot more refreshed, I read some FANTASTIC books that I can’t wait to share with you, and I’m really excited to get back into blogging and hanging out with all you amazing people.

In the last two weeks, not much has been going on, just a very busy work schedule and a hardcore bout of insomnia. BUT despite that, I refuse to mope and groan. Why? Allow me to list the reasons:

  • The TFIOS trailer. TEARS, people. After 2.5 minutes I was weeping. I seriously doubt I’ll be able to see this movie in theaters now. Unless I bring an entire box of tissues with me, and a neon sign that says, “Warning: Unstable Blogger. Approach with Caution.”
  • February 4 may perhaps be the greatest day of 2014 – Cress, Ignite Me, Unite Me, and Alienated. All in one day. I’ve preordered all but Cress, which I’m dying for still, but have to wait till March to get. I finally read Scarlet – and I UNDERSTAND NOW. Wolf is perhaps one of the best characters I’ve read in a while.
  • Sean and Catherine’s wedding. I am not ashamed to admit that I am a huge Bachelor/BacheloretteΒ fan, and I cried like a little baby when they said their vows. It was so perfectly sweet – real life OTP right there.
  • I discovered Plus One by Elizabeth Fama. Okay, seriously guys. I can’t with this cover. Just look at the beauty!!! And the synopsis sounds incredible too – I’m already counting down till April 8th.

Since I’ve been on break, I have picked up a few books here and there. Blogging break does NOT equal book ban!

photoI’ve been on a HUGE sci-fi kick in the last few weeks, and this pile is perfect for me. I’ve already read Avalon and Under the Never Sky (LOVED them!), I bought the Almost Girl despite mixed reviews because I really wanted to read it, and then I bought The Archived because it was finally at BN, and then two days later I won a giveaway for The Unbound from Christine @ The Bookish Daydreamer!

To wrap up this post, I’d like to announce that I actually watched the Superbowl game yesterday. WHAT IS THIS you say?? Kayla actually watched sports? I know, I was just as shocked. And can I also say now that that was the most boring game in the world. I think it should have ended in the second quarter, personally. Though those Budweiser commercials? Man oh man I was so close to tears on both. Well done, Budweiser – even though I’m not even legally able to consume your product, I really like your advertising.

Last thing: this week, I’ll be doing TTT, a Wednesday review of Me Since You by Laura Wiess, a Thursday discussion post on “How much tolerance do you have for books with similar ideas or books with common tropes?”, and a Friday review of Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott. Can’t wait to share it all with you!

 

16 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. WELCOME BACK, KAYLA! *throws confetti* Lol. I definitely agree with TFiOS! Oh gosh. I can’t believe a trailer made me tear up! And I’m also really excited for some of the releases this month.
    Plus One is just gorgeous! And awesome book haul! πŸ˜€

    • I read it in one sitting – I LOVE it and can’t wait to start Through the Ever Night! I haven’t read The Archived, but I’ve heard that both are so good, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy them both πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

