Top Ten Books to Make Me Cry

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Swoon. Before I started watching all my favorite tv shows, and reading all these new books, since about February of last year, I was never a crier. But in the last year, the tear ducts are on OVERDRIVE! Here’s ten books that turned on the waterworks.

Just a Sniffle:

1. Looking for Alaska by John Green. So I don’t think I actually cried with this one, but it left me with that oddly empty feeling that precedes crying. So I was close, and LfA actually impacted me a lot more than the “full blown sobbing” books did. 

2. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. This was when I first adventured into contemporary, and the ending was so perfectly bittersweet that I couldn’t help but shed a tear. 

3. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry. I was so invested in Echo and Noah’s lives and their romance – I haven’t rooted for a couple like this EVER before. That ending was just amazing ❤

A Few Minutes of Tears:

4. Champion by Marie Lu. Champion combined all the break-neck pacing of the first two books, and added an emotional whallup that left me crying for several minutes after I finished. It was really bittersweet, but after mulling it over, I think it ended perfectly.

5. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. Despite the fact that I’ve read it at least eight times, the ending always gets me. Always.

Full Blown Sobbing:

6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Honestly, this is the first book that made me cry this much. There have been others since then, but TFiOS was the first to reach in and take my heart in its fist. (I know everyone and their mother probably has this one on their list – but for good reason!)

7. Me Since You by Lauren Weiss. I won’t say why, because I’m posting my review tomorrow, but this book is one of those that felt like it was written for me – so much of it was applicable to my life. After the last page, I curled up into a ball on the couch and took a good five minutes to let it all out. 

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

(Also: Ignite Me, Alienated, and Cress all released today! I can’t even contain my excitement! *party*)

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to Make Me Cry

  1. I love how you separated your list into three separate categories! I definitely agree with what you said about Looking For Alaska – I didn’t cry either, but I did finish it feeling a little empty and also quite sad. Second Chance Summer was an ugly cry book for me though…I couldn’t control myself after reading it and was just thankful no-one walked in on me as I was ‘letting it all out’ hahaha.

    • I felt like I needed to quantify how much crying happened! Because some books are like a little sniffle and you move on but then there’s the sobbing with week-long book hangover 😀

      SCS was a hard one to read, but for whatever reason it didn’t get me to cry that much!

    • It will be the best and worst decision you could make 😀 I recommend choosing an afternoon where you can read straight through, then go to bed to sleep it off. It’s a beautiful book, but I won’t lie about the fact that it truly is heartbreaking. Plus, the movie’s coming out soon, and that promises to be a really fantastic adaptation!

  2. I don’t think I’ve seen a single list today that didn’t have The Fault in Our Stars on! It’s no surprise though, is it? I hit the full blown sobbing stage both times I read it, and no doubt I will in the movie theatre too!

    • I’m so scared for the movie, to be honest. I hate crying in public, and there’s no way I’ll be able to see it without sobbing again. I can’t decide if I want to see it in theaters or just wait till it’s released for rental…

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update 13 (February 9) | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

