Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Ignite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 408
Genre: YA, dystopian, fantasy
Series? Yes, Shatter Me #3
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: February 4, 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads: Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew-about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam-was wrong.

In Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi created a captivating and original story that combined the best of dystopian and paranormal and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” The sequel, Unravel Me, blew readers away with heart-racing twists and turns, and New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia said it was “dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and climactic end.

AmazonBarnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

Dwarf Version

There really is no way to properly sum up my thoughts on this book. I loved every aspect of it, and even though the action doesn’t pick up until the last quarter, the first 3/4 doesn’t even feel slow at all! Juliette has grown so much as a character, and I couldn’t stop cheering her on. Kenji, as always, is my favorite best friend, and I need to clone him so I can keep one around. There’s so much to say about this book, and yet it’s very simple too: Ignite Me is the best of the trilogy, and Mafi has truly outdone herself.

Supernova Version

Warning: fangirling ahead. I will try to compose myself, but I make no promises. I’m going to focus on the main emotions I have about the book, and then I’ll break down the little bitty pieces that make me smile.

Overall Feelings About the Book:

  • From the very start of the book, it’s very clear that Juliette is a new person. She’s embraced everything about who she is, and it really shows. I loved her maturity, her confidence, and her no-nonsense attitude. From page one, I was shouting, “You go girl!!!”
  • Yes, the writing style has changed. It’s a lot less flowery, and the metaphors are more sparse in this last book as compared to the other two. But I think it goes hand in hand with Juliette’s growth: as she overcame the brokenness of her mind, her thoughts were clearer, and so was the prose. It has a focus and a goal, rather than meandering through sensory overload.
  • Kenji. Guys, he is my love – though strangely not book boyfriend material. I need him as a best friend. He maintains the sassiness and comic-relief aspect of himself, but at the same time there’s a new side shown. He’s sensitive and serious, and weighed down by everything that happened with Omega Point. My heart broke so much to see him admit that he was tired of taking care of everyone and just wanted to not be okay for once.
  • My one complaint: the ending seemed rushed. But honestly, that doesn’t even matter to me at all. I don’t know what interview it was, but Mafi says that, to her, the series is about Juliette’s self discovery *paraphrasing here* And I completely agree with that. From page one of Shatter Me, the story was about a broken girl trying to fix herself and reenter the world. And now in Ignite Me, that story comes to full circle. It was absolutely beautiful, and I wouldn’t have changed a single thing about it.
  • Last note here: Warner and fashion, and honeysuckle soap. That is all.

Ultimately, this book was about the characters for me. They all were so well developed, and I am 100% attached to every single one. If Mafi treats all her future characters this way, then she’s an auto-buy author for me!

Note: if you’re wondering why I didn’t address Warner or Adam or the romance, there’s a method to my madness. I can’t talk about either without revealing spoilers, because I have too much to say, so come back tomorrow for my spoiler-filled discussion in which I break down the love triangle and my exact feelings at the end of this series. Also: loads of shipping and squealing and feels. It’s going to be fun!

Now that I’ve gotten all my collected thoughts out: ALFJDKAJKDLASJFDSKO.

I absolutely can’t with this book I felt like I was floating on cloud nine the entire time. I had a huge smile on my face; I cried; I laughed; I screamed. Ignite Me made me feel ALL THE EMOTIONS, and I needed a re-read the moment I read the last sentence. In fact, I’m planning on a whole series re-read in the next month or so. If you’re balking at reading the series *coughVeronicacough* just know that from Shatter Me to Ignite Me, there is so much change and development. Even if you hate the shipping wars, or the love interests, at least invest yourself in the girl that learns to love herself. This is so much more than a romance novel – it’s a coming of age/self-discovery novel, and it. is. flawless. PLEEEASSEEE FOR ME.

Favorite quotes/moments:

“‘You deserve so much more than charity,’ he says, his chest heaving. ‘You deserve to live. You deserve to be alive.'” – pg. 58

“No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.” – pg. 121

“‘That’s because you’re not fragile,’ Kenji says. ‘If anything, everyone needs to protect themselves from you. You’re like a freaking beast,’ he says. Then adds, ‘I mean, you know – like, a cute beast. A little beast that tears shit up and breaks the earth and sucks the life out of people.'” – pg. 160

“And we are quotation marks, inverted and upside down, clinging to one another at the end of this life sentence. Trapped by lives we did not choose. It’s time, I think, to break free.” – pg. 301

“But though we’ll know forward and we’ve known backward, we will never know the present. This moment and the next one and even the one that would’ve been right now are gone, already passed, and all we’re left with are these tired bodies, the only proof that we’ve lived through time and survived it. It’ll be worth it, though, in the end. Fighting for a lifetime of this.” – pg. 365

My Final Rating:

Cannot Fathom a Rating

8 thoughts on “Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Ignite Me Discussion | The Thousand Lives

  2. Pingback: Weekly Update 14 (February 16) | The Thousand Lives

  3. HAHA I loved your rating!!! I also loved your review… and your quotes! Basically got to relive all the feels. I completely agree with your point about Kenji, he was just the likeable funny guy in Unravel Me, and in Ignite Me we got to see this whole other side of him that just made him more relatable and unbelievable as a character. Tahereh Mafi is definitely an auto-buy, great review!

    • Why thank you! I was pretty proud of myself for that rating, haha! I’m glad I could bring back the feels for you 😉 I really wish we could get a book, or even a novella, from Kenji’s POV.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

