Weekly Update 14 (February 16)

Hello all! Hope you had a wonderful week; mine was strange, and had some way lows but some great highs as well. I have news: I didn’t buy a single book this week. I KNOW. I restrained myself. I’m still trying to finish all the books that I recently bought, won, or was gifted. My shelves are filled to bursting!

I finish the Archived on Tuesday, and since then I’ve been on a HUGE Mortal Instruments kick. I’m re-reading City of Bones for the third time over, since I keep forgetting what happened in the series and have to start again each time. Because I’m pathetic, and this is my fourth time trying to start the series. BUT I SWEAR THIS TIME I WILL COMMIT. I will not stop reading until I have closed the last page of City of Lost Souls, and am fully prepared for City of Heavenly Fire. I will be crying with you all; pass around the feels tissues. Oh and then I think I’ll go straight into The Infernal Devices series, because I love to torture myself and everyone says Clockwork Princess is the most painful thing known to man.

photo-2

Basically my reading pile for the next few days/weeks

Oh and say hi to my lovely reading angel. She’s so pretty ❤

Heyyy you know what else is happening in the next few weeks? CATCHING FIRE IS RELEASING ON DVD/BLURAY. I will be at Target the day it’s released, because I need to put it on repeat and watch it so many times that I get sick of it. Hint: that won’t happen. CF was my favorite book, and I loved how dedicated they were to the original storyline.

And now I hope they change everything about the second half of Mockingjay, except for the resolution of the love triangle. That can stay.

One last thing: happy belated Valentine’s day to you all! Single, married, partnered – whatever you are, I hope you had a great day ❤ I know I did: my coworker made tiny little bundt cakes (like smaller than my fist – and I have child hands), and we at those at like 9am. Perfect breakfast, right? Then we munched on the Dove chocolates that had been set out for the patients (shhh!) for the rest of the day. I’d gone to chocolate heaven!

I lied: this is truly my last thing. BUT HAVE YOU SEEN THE COVER FOR RUIN AND RISING?? I AM DEAD SOMEONE COME SCRAPE MY REMAINS OFF THE COUCH.

*tries to breath* Nope not working *dies*

If you missed it, this week I shared:

This week I’m going to participate in TTT, review These Broken Stars by Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman, throw a discussion in there somewhere (haven’t settled on my topic yet), and review The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau. ALSO! I’m going to be starting a new feature here on the blog, so keep an eye out for that. If I have time this week, I’ll throw it in there, but for sure I’ll have it up within the next two or three weeks 🙂

And now I have a question(s) for you: do you prefer The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices? Out of the TMI series, which is your favorite book? Is Clockwork Princess going to completely destroy me? How was your Valentine’s day? DID YOU SEE THE RUIN AND RISING COVER??? 

On a serious note, you all should really check out Chantelle’s post here; it’s a great reminder to just enjoy blogging, and not worry about all the little details that supposedly make you “better”!

27 thoughts on “Weekly Update 14 (February 16)

  1. Don’t worry you’re not alone, I reread the City of Bones series every time a new book was released. City of Lost Souls was so good and I can’t wait for City of Heavenly Fire!

    Did you know she’s making another series set in that world called The Dark Artifices? It will be set in L.A.

    I actually prefer The Infernal Devices and here are my reasons:

    1. Will Herondale
    2. Victorian England
    3. I relate to Tessa more than Clary
    4. Steampunk
    5. WILL HERONDALE

    So yeah, Will Herondale is pretty swoon worthy. And I actually think Clockwork Prince was WAY harder than Clockwork Princess, but that could just be me.

    OMG, I’m so glad you told me Catching Fire is releasing this week, that will totally occupy my tv time for the next couple of weeks.

    I think the Ruin and Rising cover is the prettiest yet! Have you seen some of the quotes from the book that Leigh Bardugo has released?

    Looking forward to your posts this week (especially curious to see the new feature!)

    • Is The Dark Artifices going to be set in the present or in the past like The Infernal Devices? Can’t wait for that one!

      I’ve read the first book in TID, and I can’t say that I’m in love with Will yet! I’m still a Jem girl 😉

      I love the cover for R&R! And there’s quotes???!!! WHERE CAN I FIND THEM??

      • I think The Dark Artifices is going to be set not too far in the future, I got the impression that Clary and Jace would be in their adult years (not that they will star in them). You can find out more details here: http://cassandraclare.tumblr.com/post/19280073965/the-dark-artifices

        I’m glad you like Jem because Will is MINE! 😉 Jem is sweet, but I just have a serious thing for Will. I can’t wait for you to read the rest of the series!

        Here’s the link to the quotes, but beware, they are very teasing:
        http://t.co/BbOz7pMXah

      • DKLASFNA;DSFJIO;AFJWEI. HOW CAN YOU DO THAT TO ME THOSE QUOTES THOSE QUOTES I’M DYING RIGHT NOW I CAN HEAR THE DARKLING’S VOICE THAT BASTARD. *dies* I’m so sorry I shall contain myself.

        You are a beautiful, beautiful person and there is a special place in heaven for people like you who provide links for crazy people like me. Bless you.

        And you can have Will! Just give me Sturmhond 😉

      • I KNOW RIGHT? It’s SO cruel because those quotes say SO much and can have SO many different meanings so you’re like WHAT THE HECK HAPPENS IN RUIN AND RISING???!!!

        It was no trouble at all, glad I could help!

        Hmmmm, not sure if I take that deal, I’m going to have to read Ruin and Rising first and see how much more Sturmhold develops… 😉

  2. Haha, I’ve re-read City of Bones so many times – almost every time a new book was released! I’m still having a hard time understanding that the series is ending. I think CoB was the first young adult book I ever read. I’m going to need a jumbo sized box of kleenex, 😦

    I think City of Glass was my favourite, though I can’t exactly remember what happens. :/

  3. How did I miss that there’s finally a cover???? And it’s so pretty in all its matching-ness glory.
    I’ve only read the first three books for TMI and the first for TID so it’s hard to judge but I’d say a slight preference to TID just because of the time period and the world building seemed tighter than in TMI.
    CoG is my favorite TMI so far with so much action and so many characters getting attention and POVs.

    • I don’t know but you are now aware!!!

      I’m really hoping to see more of Alec’s POV or at least more character involvement from him in CoG. Or Isabelle. I just love the Lightwood siblings ❤

  4. I just bought The Archived, excited to start it soon! I also got Shadow and Bone from the library, I have heard amazing things about that series. I read the first three of The Mortal Instruments but it definitely wasn’t my favorite.
    New follower 🙂
    ­Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    • Read Shadow and Bone first! And then make sure you have Siege and Storm because you’ll need to go right into that one 😉 Both books are STUNNING, and I’m so happy because Ruin and Rising comes out a week before my birthday – best gift ever!

  5. Eek, you remind me that I’ve still not read City of Lost Souls! Gah. I do prefer The Infernal Devices, though, because of the setting mostly. And yes, Clockwork Princess will break your heart but it’s so lovely and so perfectly done! I ABOUT DIED AT THE RUIN AND RISING COVER. IT’S SO PRETTY AND THE FIREBIRD AND THE RED AND I WANT IT NOW. Ooh, and I can’t wait to see your review of These Broken Stars!! I ADORED it. 🙂

    • Get on it Rachel! We have to join the blogging forces and all read City of Heavenly Fire together 😉

      *cries already* I don’t think I can survive it! I’ll be blogging my review from my grave.

      ISN’T IT STUNNING??? LEIGH BETTER NOT KILL STURMHOND OR I WILL FLIP A TABLE AND THEN THROW A TANTRUM.

    • I really enjoyed the middle third of it, but the ending left me slightly confused. My only tip is to pay attention very carefully at the end! I let the book haze cloud my focus, so that may have been my problem 😉

  6. The Clockwork Princess was one of the best endings to a series I’ve seen in a while! Both happy and sad all at the same time but everything nicely wrapped up as it should be! I loved TMI series but she’s really spun it out after the original series and should have left that one with the nice, tied up ending that it was supposed to have!

    • Okay, okay, I shall brave the pain and read Clockwork Princess. But don’t be surprised when I show up at your doorstep crying and mumbling about the characters.

      I’m just starting City of Glass now, so I’ll make sure to enjoy it and then take the fourth and fifth books with a grain of salt 😉

      • You won’t regret it and I’ll have the tissues and comfort food ready! 😉

        City of Glass is great – though there is one bit you might need your tissues there as well! I so wanted to be a Shadowhunter when I read the original trilogy! lol

  7. The Infernal Devices series is amazing! I definitely like it a lot more than TMI (although that series is pretty good overall, books 4 and 5 aren’t quite as good as I’d hoped they’d be). I’d say that City of Glass is definitely the best book in TMI series so far, but I have high hopes for City of Heavenly Fire since a lot of characters from TID are apparently making cameos 😀
    OMG THE RUIN AND RISING COVER IS SO BEAUTIFUL! Totally considering getting a hardback because it’s so pretty even though it then wouldn’t match the other two books because they’re paperbacks.

    • I’m reading City of Glass now – we’ll see what my final verdict is in a few days!

      And you should totally get a hardback – they’re really nice! I have the hardback for Siege and Storm, and the paperback for Shadow and Bone, and I honestly wish I could have found S&B in hardback because they’re just really amazing!

  8. A+ gif usage 😉
    I liked City of Bones well enough but TID… Oh my gosh. That books has the best love triangle known to man and so, so many feels. And yes, if Clockwork Princess doesn’t make you cry, you have no soul xD

  9. YAY Catching Fire! That was my favorite book of the series, too. I don’t know if I’m going to buy the movie, since I have a Netflix subscription, but now that you’ve said it, I really want to watch it again, too. I’m actually not a fan of TMI series. I tried out TID, and I thought it was okay. I don’t know…I think it’s just me, but something about Clare’s writing just doesn’t sit right with me. I don’t know. I really thought that I was going to like her books, but then I just didn’t :/ But I’m excited to hear what you have to say about them anyway! 🙂 I like reading other opinions about books.

    • Both series to me are ones that you know are cliche, you know have overused tropes, you know don’t have the best writing, but it’s a really good escape, and it’s just plain entertaining. I don’t read them to be changed, I read them to be entertained for a few hours 😉

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

