Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Blogger/Reader

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader. So, instead of doing this specific topic, I’m going to refine it a bit, and change my topic to What Blogging and Reading has taught me, and why I love these hobbies. Because I don’t have any other hobbies, and in the copious amount of time I’ve dedicated to blogging and reading, I’ve learned a lot, and I love it all!

What Blogging and Reading Has Taught Me:

1. Reading has taught me empathy. We’ve all heard the studies and scientific claims that reading makes you more openminded and empathetic, and I truly believe that this isn’t just a myth. Reading makes me face important questions and moral decisions, the “what would I do in this situation?” question, and I’ve learned that nothing is black and white, and to always gather information before making a judgement.

2. Blogging has taught me commitment. Being disciplined enough to sit down and write multiple posts a week isn’t easy! This is something important to me, so I make sure I set aside the time to accomplish what I set before myself. Though I’ve recently learned that sometimes in order to be committed, you need to take a day for yourself!

3. Reading has taught me that fictional characters can be an inspiration. This applies to movies as well. The greatest thing I’ve ever seen on Tumblr is this: “Tony Stark has anxiety and panic attacks, and yet he saved the world multiple times. You can do this.” [Paraphrased a bit there.] That was the most incredible moment for me – watching Iron Man 3 and seeing this badass dude having a panic attack – suddenly he was just like me! And if Stark can push past his attacks and go on to take down the big bad, then of course I can do the same and tackle whatever is happening in my own life!

4. Blogging has taught me that I have to work at maintaining relationships. While the internet is a beautiful thing, and I met my best friends online, there’s also a downside. I won’t run into these people in real life – Chiara is in Australia, Lillian is in India (correct me if I’m wrong, dear!), and Andi is all the way on the East coast! So I have to make sure I email, tweet, or at least comment on their blogs frequently. Not everyone is going to come to me; I have to come outside myself and actually make an effort in relationships – something I’m not very good at! Blogging has given me those skills to make friendships and maintain them.

5. Reading has taught me to dream big. Sure, we make fun of the books where the hero always comes out on top, but those books are important. They teach me that if you set your mind to it, you can accomplish anything. So what if your goals are out of this world? There’s nothing wrong with trying, and in the case that you fail, you can always find something else to strive for. 

Why I Love Blogging and Reading:

6. Blogging has given me many opportunities. First of all, I get to work with publishers, authors, and other bloggers: experiences that can only help me when I begin to seek out publishing my own novels! I get to see the behind the scenes of how it all works, and the effort that goes into publishing and publicizing a novel. I feel more prepared (if that’s possible), and maybe like I’ll have a general idea of what I’m getting into as an author, because I’ve seen the other side as a blogger.

7. Reading gives me an escape. I’m totally honest here: I read to get out of my head. Which is probably why I read mostly fantasy or science fiction. The deeper I can get into another world, the better. I can ignore the real world for just a few hours, and return refreshed and better able to handle life. 

8.  Blogging has introduced me to new books and authors. 90% of the books on my shelves are there because someone has recommended them to me, or because I saw a review on a blog. I used to be so lost walking into the YA section at BN – all I saw was the vampire fad! But now as a blogger, I recognize names and titles and have a better idea of what I’m walking into. I feel like I’m more in control, and more relaxed when I explore the shelves.

9. I love reading because nothing is more powerful than imagination. Reading is like Star Trek – going boldly where no one else has gone before. Imagination is limitless, and seeing that boundlessness on the page, knowing that someone thought this magic up – that’s the best moment in the world. 

10. I love blogging because it’s just pure fun. This blog is my space – and people like my space! Never before this have I been able to be so freely passionate about books, to fangirl even when I annoy people with my caps lock and keyboard smashes, and to have serious, mind-bending discussions with people who share my excitement and passion and intensity.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Blogger/Reader

  1. I love this post almost as much as I love you. I kid. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH MORE, KAYLA. But this is kind of an amazing post. 😀
    If I did TTT any more, this is what my post would look like.
    I used to feel so alone in my love for books. And after my one bookish friend and I had a falling out, I had absolutely no one (NO ONE) to share my love of books with. Sure, there are people that read maybe 10 books a year, but to readers like us, that’s kind of a bit more than pathetic, haha. But then I joined the blogosphere. People are always writing about how they joined because they wanted to meet fellow book-obsessed people. Uh… I pretty much just wanted to word-vomit my thoughts about books onto some-place where people could read it. Obviously, blogging has become SO much more than that. I have met some amazing people, and I get to call some of these people FRIENDS. Not just people who comment on my blog, or fangirl with me every so often – but people I really care about. Hint: like you. ❤ It's seriously amazing, and I never in my wildest dreams thought that blogging would lead me to people that I would come to care so much about.
    Blogging has turned out to be simply so much more than I could have ever imagined. And I'm so glad I joined. I cannot even imagine what my life would be like without it now. So much time goes into my baby. I sometimes find myself wondering: what the hell did I EVEN DO before I had a blog? I truly do not even know, haha.
    Anyway. ILY KAYLA. AND YOU NEVER ANSWERED MY MARRIAGE PROPOSAL BTW. FEELINGS = HURT.

    • Just slow clap it out. This is EXACTLY what I was trying to say! All of this ❤

      And that's my exact question to myself: what did I DO on the computer before this blog and tumblr?? I just don't know.

      I AM SO SORRY OMG. *gets one one knee* CHIARA WILL YOU BE MY SOUL SISTER IN BOOKS AND MARRY ME SO WE CAN RIDE OFF INTO THE SUNSET IN SEARCH OF RAFFE FOREVER???

      • *slow claps* See, we are meant for each other, Kayla ❤

        I had Tumblr before my blog, but it was never this time consuming. Maybe I spent less time on the computer, haha.

        YES, KAYLA. I ACCEPT. I WILL BE YOUR SOULS SISTER IN BOOKS AND WE WILL SPEND THE REST OF OUR LIVES IN SEARCH OF RAFFE/S. PH, AND THE SUNSETS. LOTS OF SUNSETS.

  2. Wow, your top 10 is so much deeper than mine! lol I can definitely relate to using books as a much needed escape from reality and how books can really refresh you, and help you to face the world again. That’s one of the things I love most about them! Great list!

  3. I love the point you make about relationships being harder to maintain online. It’s TRUE! With my friends, I can usually blow off an email or text and reply back whenever I see them next, but we never meet readers online so there’s that necessity to respond to messages and tweets and keep those lines of communications going. Wonderful Top Ten, Kayla! 🙂

    • Especially if you get busy with work and such – sometimes the computer or phone is the last thing on your mind at the end of the day! It’s definitely shown me how to work for a relationship 🙂

      Thank you!

  4. Awww this post is so sweet! I love all of it. I really, really liked what you said about books teaching you (and people in general) empathy. I guess I never really thought about it before, but that’s totally true. When reading, you get to step into somebody else’s shoes, and because of that, you’re actually kind of going through what they’re going through. You get to experience things that you never would in real life, and it makes you more open — to different people, experiences, places, everything! I’ve always been a pretty open person in general, I think, but reading has definitely made that even more so. I love being able to experience a person’s life who is completely different from me. It’s one of my favorite things about reading, too 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Update 15 (February 23) | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

