How I Learned to Love Hardback Books

Loving HardbacksWhen I first started blogging (nearly a year ago now!), I wrote post after post waxing lyrical on why I hated hardback books. Hated hardbacks! I would force myself to wait for a new release until it was in a paperback version. But I am standing here today, almost a year later, to say that I am cured of my hardback hating ways!

This process can actually be broken down in three easy steps:

1) The Harsh Reality

New releases are usually hardback only. This is a DUH moment, but once I realized that I didn’t want to wait 9-18 months for a paperback release, it was pretty easy to get over myself. There is NO WAY that I would have waited almost a year for Ignite Me, or Avalon, or Cress! That’s just re-donk-ulous. Why did it take me so long to realize that I have zero patience and will never survive the wait for my most anticipated reads of the year?

2) I Am a Very Clumsy Person

Hardback is far more durable. There’s just something really fantastic about being able to confidently shove a hardback into my purse and know that after eight hours at work it will still emerge as flawless as before. Paperbacks do tend to get bent in the black hole that I call a purse! Those poor things. I bet they scream in their little paperback voices when it happens. “SAVE ME FROM THE MONSTER!”

3) The Touch Test

I am a very sensory-oriented person, and am very specific about what textures and fabrics I’ll allow touching my skin. I’ve learned to love that solid, strong feeling that you can only get by holding that nice new hardback in your hands. Paperbacks have their uses, but they do bend a lot. I almost feel formidable when holding a hardback – I have a weapon! Trust me – those things hurt when they hit skin. My knees can attest to the fact. Plus, for whatever reason, hardbacks give that “don’t touch me I’m reading” signal a lot better than paperbacks can.

So, it’s official! I ultimately love a hardback over the paperback versions, though I will buy a paperback when I want to read the book, but I’m not sure I’ll love it. But then I run into this problem (which I’m experiencing with Cinder by Marissa Meyer): I fall in love with it, and now I have to hunt down a hardback copy to match the rest of the series! Though Costco has Cinder in hardback for $11 right now… Might need to make another trip!

33 thoughts on “How I Learned to Love Hardback Books

  1. Lol. I think I can relate to this somewhat. I used to only want paperbacks too, but now I want all the hardbacks! We don’t always have the problem of waiting for paperbacks in my country though. Usually there’s an international edition that’s in paperback. But there’s definitely an appeal to the sturdy hardcovers with pages that you can hold effortlessly. My only problem with them is that they’re so expensive and I probably won’t be able to buy as much as I want. 😛

    • That explains why I’ve seen pictures of Ignite Me in paperback already! Hardbacks are pretty expensive… But when it’s a month where only 2 or 3 books are coming out, I can usually swing it and just have to ban myself from other books 😉

  2. I have always loved hardbacks. They’re like the original books! They’re pretty, and they don’t bend (like you said), they have dust-jackets and (most likely) pretty shiny text on the actual hardcover. *swoon*
    But. BUT.
    I absolutely hate reading hardbacks. I just. No. They’re heavy, and the pages don’t open as much (unless you want to wreck the spine), and my fingers get tired, and I get frustrated and EURGH.
    I much prefer reading paperbacks, and owning hardbacks. I’m an enigma; what can I say? YOU LOVE ME ANYWAY. ❤

  3. I had the opposite journey. I am starting to appreciate paperbacks a lot more because they’re just so lightweight. That said my eternal struggle with reading paperback ARCs is in keeping them pristine in my bags (as someone who won’t even crack the spine of a book this is especially vital).

    I know a lot of people are very thorough in matching books in a series–I have to tell you life is much simpler when you can let that go and just have all different formats!

    • That’s my main problem: I’m always running around, and usually read in the middle of errands, so paperbacks get all smashed 😦

      You make a good point though – life would be much easier if I could let go of that “I have one paperback and two hardbacks in a series and it REALLY bothers me” mentality!

  4. Such good points:) I actually get disappointed when a book is only available in paperback. The hardbacks just look so much prettier and impressive on a shelf. The ‘walk in effect’ when you walk into a room to see a bookcase full of hardcovers is amazing.

    • The only time I like having a book immediately in paperback is when it’s one that I want to read, but I’m not so sure I’ll love, like The Almost Girl by Amalie Howard.

      It’s like walking into a magnificent library 😀

  5. I feel you. I hunted the Divergent hardcover and I HAVE ITE FINALLY. I am so not getting rid of my paperback version though. It has a lot of goodies. I am glad you are cured. I just bought a lot of paperback in the day because IT WAS CHEAPER. I had to survive on $40 for two weeks. I would not eat lunch at school so I could buy roughly four books. I’m so sad Borders no longer exists. I got DEALS at that place. Okay, I just totally went on a tangent. Oops.

  6. Now I definitely want to read a post about why you hated hardbacks in the first place because these all seem like awesome reasons (that I totally agree with!) My books take a beating because of my clumsiness and I love all that extra padding haha

  7. Pingback: Blogs I’m Lovin’ [2] | My Novel Opinion

  8. Yay, I’m glad you learned to love hardcovers! They’ve always been a favorite with me for many of the reasons you said above but also, I love that you get a built in book mark with the dust jacket! Great post Kayla! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Weekly Update 18 (March 16) | The Thousand Lives

  10. I didn’t use to be a fan of hardcovers either! They’re so bulky and heavy. I mean, try reading a Game of Thrones hardcover on your back…yeah, I don’t think so. But they definitely have their advantages, as you mentioned. I LOVE that I can carry them around in my purse and they don’t get messed up. I just had to completely stop doing that with paperbacks because they would always get damaged and I love my pretty books. I definitely have a lot more hardcovers in my collection than I used to before I started book blogging, too. They just look so much better on the shelves 🙂

  11. I used to hate hardcovers too! I don’t hate them anymore either. But I’ve not been converted to loving them like you have. Sturdiness is definitely a quality I have come to appreciate but with sturdiness comes extra weight. Since I always carry a book with me wherever I go, paperbacks will always have that bit of extra love from me. Paperbacks are so much more portable and hardcovers can never beat them in that department.

    There is one more thing that hardcovers have going for them that paper books often don’t. When it comes to series, hardcovers more likely come in matching sizes. My heart still breaks when I look at my mismatched Divergent series. Same design series, so the covers are of the same style but the sizes differ 😦

    • That’s true – my shoulder always hurts when I put a hardback in my purse. I end up switching my bag back and forth, and I end up more annoyed than comfortable.

      Mismatched sets are the worst – especially when it’s only 1/4 of an inch or something!

  12. Pingback: Retrospect #11-12 (Double Edition): March 23rd : Dudette Reads

  13. Pingback: Blogs I'm Lovin' [2] - My Novel OpinionMy Novel Opinion

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

