Top Ten Gateway Books

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey (so your list could be a mix of a books that got you into reading, an author that got you into reading a genre you never thought you’d read, a book that brought you BACK into read). I’ll split it up into the three sections: books that got me reading, authors/books that got me reading a genre I never thought I’d read, and books that brought me BACK into reading.

Books that Got Me Reading

TTT 4.1-1

1. Coming Home (Heartland #1) by Lauren Brooke. I was (as most young girls are) addicted to horses – wanted to be an equine vet and everything. Plus, this series killed me with feels before I even knew what feels were. Amy and Ty were my first ever OTP.

TTT 4.1-2

2. The Wild One (Phantom Stallion #1) by Terri Farley. Anther series to fuel my horse fantasies. This isn’t the actual cover of The Wild One – this is book #17 or something. It was my favorite cover of the entire series though! And now I’m kind of sad that I don’t own them anymore. NOSTALGIA. 

TTT 4.1-3

3. Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Tree House #1) by Mary Pope Osborne. This was like Magic School Bus for me; I loved all the different historical places and science and facts I learned through this series. And now it makes total sense to me why I failed history in high school with my textbooks. I always learned best through historically set fiction! (This is also not the cover for Dinosaurs Before Dark since my favorite in the series was actually #13 – Vacation Under the Volcano, set in Pompeii when the volcano erupted).

TTT 4.1-4

4. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by JK Rowling. I know it as Philosopher’s Stone rather than Sorcerer’s stone, because the first time I read HP was actually the UK versions of the first three books! Harry Potter is the most important series from my childhood, and even today I have them on a separate shelf, and two copies of the entire series.

TTT 4.1-5

5. DragonSpell (DragonKeeper Chronicles #1) by Donita K. Paul. THANK YOU GOODREADS FOR REMINDING ME OF THIS SERIES. I now need to reread this entire series because I still have it on my shelf. This series is actually dragons and fantasy and knights mixed with allegorical elements of Christianity – it helped me understand my faith more than Sunday school. I don’t even have words for how important this series is to me ❤

TTT 4.1-6

6. Eragon (Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini. So I actually haven’t even read the last book in this series, because Paolini’s style got a bit weird and to be honest the tone of the third book was really arrogant and there was a lot of deus ex machina going on so I’m still trying to work past those reservations. BUT – Eragon by itself is still one of my favorites, and Saphira is probably the root of my love for snarky characters.

Books that Got Me Reading a Genre I Never Thought I’d Read

TTT 4.1-7

7. Deeper We Fall (Fall and Rise #1) by Chelsea M. Cameron. This was one of the first books I requested through NetGalley, before I even knew what New Adult was. Even though I’ve read some awful NA books since then, I truly enjoyed this first one, and I’m glad I entered the genre with this one.

TTT 4.1-8

8. Left Drowning by Jessica Park. While I enjoy Flat Out Love more than this one, Left Drowning was another NA book that actually stands out in the midst of the rest of them all. It may have been a bit melodramatic, but sometimes I need drama, and this satisfied that need, plus the characters are still some of my favorites.

TTT 4.1-9

9. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. The very first time I met Veronica, she and I went to Barnes and Noble, where she immediately told me that I needed to get over my aversion to Contemporary and chose three books for me to read immediately. SCS was one (Anna and the French Kiss being another!), and it was the first that made me realize that contemporary is actually not just cheesy romances.

Books that Got Me BACK Into Reading

TTT 4.1-10

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. This is probably the only book I read while I was in college besides Harry Potter rereads. Ender was a character I understood so well, and Card’s writing inspired me to get back to my own novel and finish it. 

TTT 4.1-11

11. City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare. After a two year stint of reading absolutely nothing except Ender’s Game and Harry Potter, CoB was the first book I picked up after graduation. I was actually at Target, with a bit of unexpected extra money in my pocket. Usually I would have bought movies, but that day I said “screw it, I’m going to read.” And thus began my journey back into reading and the YA genre in general. 

TTT 4.1-12

12. Divergent by Veronica Roth. This was the other book in that Target trip. Even though I read several books between CoB and Divergent, I still count Divergent as one of the books that got me back into reading.

Apparently I had more books than I thought! That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Gateway Books

  1. Oh my gosh, I was obsessed with the Magic Tree House books too! They were so fun. And yes, of course Harry Potter 😀 Most of the rest I haven’t heard of so I just got some new recs 🙂

  2. harry ❤ Enough said there! I have Deeper We Fall on my Kindle for SOO long now, I bought it when it was on sale and never picked it up … I'm gonna nudge this a little higher up on my reading list now! Second Chance Summer is one I will be picking up this summer (but I'm terrified!) so I can't wait to see what everyone loves about it 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update 21 (April 6) | The Thousand Lives

  4. It makes me so happy that SCS made you SEE contemporary in a whole new way. I’m really rather proud of myself. Hehe. I cannot take all the credit myself of course. Andi has helped me a lot with the contemporary stuff.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

