Top Ten Unique Books

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read. This can be really different MCs, the way the book was written, a very unique spin on a genre or topic, etc.

All right, let’s pull up Goodreads and see what I come up with!

Unique Main Characters

TTT 4.8-1

1. Cracked by Eliza Crewe. Meda is a demon, with a craving for souls and a love of mayhem. She’s unapologetic about her chaotic nature, and yet at the same time she’s a character you just have to root for, because there’s this tiny streak of good inside her.

TTT 4.8-2

2. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Celaena, like I talked about in my review last week, is incredibly feminine: she loves to have her hair and nails done, and dresses in the finest gowns. But at the same time, she could take you down with one finger and not ruffle a hair out of place. She’s deadly and sexy, and she knows it. 

TTT 4.8-3

3. Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park. Matt may be your average “geeky guy”, but it’s the little details that Park gives him that really makes him a standout character. From his monologues on fonts to his nerdy tshirts, Matt definitely stands out among the slew of geek guys in YA fiction.

Unique Writing Styles

TTT 4.8-4

4. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. Really, this is a given that Mafi will be on most lists today. But instead of Shatter Me, with its crossed out lines and pages of repeated words, I chose Ignite Me. It maintains all the lyrical nature of the first two books, and becomes more solid prose. Instead of being fragmented thoughts and random metaphors, the style is focused, and there’s a gem of a quote on every other page.

Unique Topics/Ideas

TTT 4.8-5

5. The Archived by Victoria Schwab. Walking memories in the form of their bodies before they died. Need I say more?

TTT 4.8-6

6. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson. It’s kind of like X-Men, but all of them are Magneto and there’s no Professor X. Or is there…? DUN DUN DUN READ THE FREAKING BOOK.

TTT 4.8-7

7. Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton. Emotions take physical forms, and Elizabeth can see them all. And with Fear constantly hanging around her, Elizabeth follows a strange journey as she tries to actually feel the emotions, not just see them.

TTT 4.8-8

8. Backward Glass by David Lomax. You fall through a mirror, and you skip back ten years. And it can only happen at midnight. And if you time it right, you can jump back or forward several decades. And it all has to be on years that end in seven. Oh, and all the teens from each year are intricately intwined in a way that will give you chills. It’s time travel at its best!

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Unique Books

  1. The Archived’s on my list as well, Kayla! 😀 And Tahereh Mafi does have wonderful writing. I also have Steelheart on my shelf so I should get to it soon!:)

    • That’s the perfect way to put it! I can’t wait for the sequel this fall.

      You’re one of the few people that’s read Backward Glass that I’ve talked to! I loved all those rhymes and how they revealed certain parts that you didn’t understand till they had happened. Although I’ll admit it was kind of creepy at some points 😛

      • It’s definitely one of the better time-travel books I’ve come across last year. I’m hoping for some sort of sequel or something though. He hinted at other mirror children around the world if I’m not mistaken — so here’s to hoping!

  2. Throne of Glass is definitely on my TBR for the next few months, so SO many people have raved about it but I only recently dabbled in fantasy (with Shadow and Bone!) so I never gave it a thought before.

    I have Flat Out Love on my Kindle! I bought it some time ago when it was on sale and then never thought about it again (:S that’s so awful)… I’m so excited that Matt stands out as the guy! A lot of guys are really cookie cutter in YA!

    • READDDDD ITTTT!!! Shadow and Bone is a good start though 😉 Excellent choice, in fact.

      Flat Out Love will give you all the feels, but it’s beyond worth it! I need a real life Matt, and then my life will be complete 😀

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

