ARC Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Title: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Genre: YA, contemporary, mystery
Publisher/Publication Date: Delacorte Press, May 13th 2014
How Did I Get It? NetGalley
Format? ebook

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.

A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.

A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.

A revolution. An accident. A secret.

Lies upon lies.

True love.

The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Amazon | Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

The Yacht

Where to begin with this book… Wow. That’s about all I can say! I don’t want to spoil anything, so this is going to be a really vague few paragraphs with some opinions thrown it. We Were Liars totally blew me away. It left me absolutely, completely stunned. Like, jaw on the floor, heart pounding, WTFing the entire way! I’ve never read any of Lockhart’s novels before, and only requested the book on NetGalley because the cover was pretty and I liked how vague the synopsis was, but I would, without a doubt, read more of her work!

Since I’m not going into the plot at all, I did want to put a spotlight on Lockhart’s writing style. It’s this lyrical blend of similes and metaphors and plays on words that create this mystical sort of tone that really lends credibility to the whole mystery of the book. Like, what’s real and what’s imagination? It’s all very blended at times, and it was the perfect way to write out the main character’s thoughts.

Me when I thought I had it all figured out, but really didn’t

Okay, so the plot. I will give zero hints at what happens, but ohmywow please read this book if for the plot alone! It’s politics and romance and tradition and all that upper class drama we love to eat up because it’s so foreign to most of us. So YES I highly recommend based on the plot alone!

That’s really all I have to say about this – I hope it’s enough to convince you that We Were Liars is more than worth your time! Here’s how I can validate this fact: I don’t usually buy physical copies of the eARCs I receive, but I would 100% go out and get a hardback of this book. THAT’S how good it was!

My Final Rating:

Five Anchors

13 thoughts on “ARC Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Every single one of the reviews for this book are so vague and I’m seriously, seriously excited to find out what the fuss is all about! Glad you enjoyed it and I hope that I will, Kayla! 🙂

  2. I haven’t read many reviews for this, but all that I’ve seen are really positive and non-specific. I’m so curious to find out what’s so shocking that happens, though! I read a couple of E. Lockhart’s books when I was in… middle school, maybe? and don’t remember anything specific about them, aside from that I liked them. 🙂 Can’t wait to read this! D:

    • This was my first from her, but if the rest are anything like it, I’ll definitely be reading more!

      I know it’s infuriating xD But really, it’s worth it that you’re not spoiled!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap 23 (April 20) | The Thousand Lives

  4. Oh I went to her panel at the Book Festival and thought this sounded intriguing, but I didn’t pick it up! Now I’m kicking myself because you make it sound so good! Mystery and suspense and an interesting writing style are all things I love! I’ll have to read this now – thank you for your great review!

    • It’s not out till next month, or I would have bought a copy too 😦 But it’s definitely worth it, and I think it’s out the second week of May! (Might be wrong on that date though)

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

