Weekly Recap 23 (April 20)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! Also: Happy Easter to those who celebrate it, and Happy Resurrection Day to those who also celebrate! Enjoy your church services (if you do so), chocolate, good food, family, egg hunts, and the lovely warm weather (at least down here in Cali where spring is here to stay).

Stacking the Shelves

photo.PNG

Last weekend was the LA Book Festival, so I went a wee bit crazy with the book buying. Ban? What ban? Anyhoo… it was totally worth it! Dreams of Gods and Monsters was a signed copy from the Mysterious Galaxy booth, and since I wasn’t able to meet Laini Taylor this was a good substitute. Open Road Summer I bought because 1) the cover, 2) it was three days earlier than it’s release date, 3) I got to meet Emery Lord and have it signed, and 4) basically all my reading had been place holders till I got my hands on this book. Unravel Me I just had to buy, because I had an ARC version, but wanted a finished copy, and since Tahereh Mafi was right there… you know how these things go 😉

The other two books were actually not of my own spending! Woo! I won a copy of The Ring and the Crown through Fiktshun and the giveaway she hosted with the publisher. I can’t really tell who’s more excited: me or my sister! I think it’s one we’ll both really enjoy. Now I just have to read it soon to test for content… Ah the woes of being the guinea pig big sister. And as an Easter present, my mom bought me The Museum of Intangible Things (plus a bottle of lotion that I’ve been making grabby hands at for weeks) and totally made my night! It was the other book in my “have to have” list, right next to Open Road Summer. I just think they go so well together!

In other news…

I’m in my second week of spring break, and wow I think I’m the laziest teacher to ever exist. I was supposed to get ahead on my lesson planning, but that all went through the window! I’ll have to work extra hard next week, but it was beyond worth it. I’m well rested, sleeping better than I have in months, and I’ve had the time to focus on working out and getting healthier. I’ve been faithful with cardio and blogilates, and I’ve seen some definite changes. I’d post the progress pics, but I’m in my undies and a sports bra so I’ll just keep that to myself 😉 When I finish the beginner’s calendar I’ll get a pic when I’m fully clothed so I can show off my month’s progress! But, to give you a picture of how much this program has helped me, both with my body and my confidence and overall good feeling inside…

I bought a dress. For the first time in two years. And I’m wearing it today for Easter! I’ll put a picture up of that on instagram sometime today, if you’re interested. (Totally feeling conceited right now but this is a BIG step for me and I’m just so excited!)

The rest of life has been pretty quiet, but it’s been a good quiet. I spent yesterday painting my toes and nails with my sister, sitting outside in the lovely sunshine and breeze. I’ve got sunflowers on my fingers and toes!

Last thing! I found a new album that I’m obsessed with:

Amazon had it for $5 MP3 (that category always sucks me in), and I fell in love with the sound. See Me Smiling is my favorite right now, because it’s like the perfect anthem for one of my main characters in my WIP!

Last last thing (oops). I totally skipped over the schedule that I had made for last week as far as my posting goes, and it worked so well! So rather than that whole “I’m changing it all and sticking to this” mandate I said a few weeks ago, this blog is now foot loose and totally unscheduled! Some weeks I may have three reviews, some weeks just one, and my features will come and go. So while I may set a schedule in these posts, whether or not I stick to them is entirely dependent on what I read and how I feel.

If you missed it, last week I:

What’s coming up this week?

  • Monday – The Writing Life: Camp NaNo Update 3
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Characters that Inspire Me
  • Wednesday – Review of Open Road Summer by Emery Lord (new favorite!)
  • Thursday – A discussion of some sort… maybe 😉
  • Friday – Most likely a review roundup of all the contemporaries I’ve read in the last few weeks!

Hope you all have a good week!

10 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 23 (April 20)

  1. I’ve heard such great things about both Open Road Summer and The Museum of Intangible Things that while I haven’t read either of them, I’ve very excited for you to read them! You’ll have to tell me how they were when you finish!

    (Oops, I just noticed that you have your review of Open Road Summer going up next week. I can’t wait to hear all about it!)

    And you go, Kayla! It’s so great that you’ve been really keeping up with being healthier. Honestly, hearing about all your progress is inspiring me to make a jump on getting healthier too!

    Hope you have a great week!

    • Read both of them!!! My review for Open Road Summer will be up on Wednesday, and my review for The Museum of Intangible Things will be up on Friday 😀

      Thank you! It’s hard to stick to a program, but now that I’m in the habit I actually crave working out. It helps me sleep, and I have so much more energy in the day 🙂

  2. EEK! So many awesome books 🙂 I don’t know how I missed Open Road Summer but I did, and this week there was so much buzz about it I added it to my TBR. Contemporary is not my go to genre but this sounds like a great summer read and I’ve heard such great things, I can’t resist!

    Congrats on your awesome progress with working out 🙂 I can’t wait to see your progress pic!

    I hope this coming week is as good is this one!!

  3. Oooh, I am so jealous you have your hands on a copy of Dreams of Gods and Monsters! It’s on my birthday list so I have to wait a whole month to read it!! How will I cope? 😦

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

