Discussion: What It’s Like to be a Mood Reader

Mood ReadingBasically this is me complaining about my reading habits as of the last three weeks. Because I can, and because I’m grumpy (not really – I’ve just got a horrid headache that won’t go away!) Hence, the subtitle in my banner.

First of all, what is a mood reader? Easy answer: schedules don’t mean anything to you. Have an ARC that needs reading by a certain date? Well you better hope your picky little noggin is in the mood, or it’s going to be like slogging through mud uphill to finish the darn thing.

If I look at my Goodreads “read” shelf, I can track my moods from the beginning of January. It’s very simple, and there’s three phases I can see.

Phase One: Space Opera/Sci-Fi

There’s a few fantasy interspersed in this period, but it all started when I got These Broken Stars for Christmas. And I was sunk after that! This was the time of Avalon, Ignite Me, Alienated, Control and Scarlet, among others. Give me techy lingo, laser guns, spaceships, genetic manipulation – I couldn’t get enough of it! That was a two month spurt, lasting from January all the way to the first few days of March.

Phase Two: Mixed Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Contemporary

The ardor for space petered out eventually, and I had a relatively well balanced diet of all the genres. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, Fangirl, all three Throne of Glass books, Far From You, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and the entire Divergent series are the notable reads from this period. This time of easygoing reading, where I could pick any book off my shelf and be happy about it, only lasted one month, barely making it to the last days of March. And then…

Phase Three: CONTEMPORARY NOMNOMNOM

After reading Allegiant, I hit a book slump like I haven’t seen in ages. I mean, I had to force myself to even open a book, much less read 200-300 words a night like I usually do. Talk about a major book hangover! So I decided to distance myself from anything relating to the genre, and so turned to my pitiful little contemporary shelf. And now, in 20 days, I’ve read 9 contemporary books, the only deviation being a small fantasy novella, and Cress. And there is no stopping. Although there probably will be sometime soon, because I’m running out of contemporary books to read! But I’ve read some fabulous books: Open Road Summer, The Museum of Intangible Things, 13 Reasons Why, If I Stay… all so fantastic โค

So that’s where I’m at. I’m in a Katie McGarry reread extravaganza to prepare for Take Me On’s release in May, and I plan on reading Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone when it’s released May 6!

Ultimately this is a really whiny post, I realize. BUT YOU ALL MUST UNDERSTAND ON SOME LEVEL?? I can’t be the only one struggling with this. It’s horrible to look at the shelf full of books I’ve bought to read, and can’t even stomach the thought of opening them!

How do you deal with mood reading? Do you humor your whims, or do you forceย yourself to read by a schedule?

 

33 thoughts on “Discussion: What It’s Like to be a Mood Reader

  1. When I first started blogging, I was adamant that I wasn’t a mood blogger. I was certain I could just set a schedule and stick to it! I don’t know if I never was in the first place, or whether my reading habits have changed over the course of the pages ten months, but now I’m a huge mood reader and I’ve realised that by sticking to a schedule I’m just doing more harm than good. I end up having more negative experiences while reading and that’s not fair to myself and the books I’m reading. It can be frustrating, especially when requesting ARCs and then not being in the mood for them, but ultimately I’ve had a lot more positive reading experiences now I’ve embraced my mood reading ways.

    • That’s my exact struggle! I end up rating books lower because they’re just not what I wanted, and so it’s a struggle just to get through them.

      ARCs are killer – I’ve let a few back up and now I’ve got to just sit down and read them all at once. Hopefully it’ll break me out of this rut!

  2. THIS HAS FURTHER SOLIDIFIED OUR BOOK TWIN-NESS.
    I am also a complete mood reader. If I don’t want to read a book, I just won’t. This is why I have review book backlog from as far back as March 2012 D:
    But I just feel like I won’t really be rating/reviewing a book properly if I read it when I’m not in the mood for it. I mean, obviously I’m probs going to end up rating it lower than I normally would and things that normally wouldn’t annoy me might end up annoying me etc etc.
    So how I deal with mood reading? I’m actually not too bothered by it, tbh haha. I just roll with it ๐Ÿ˜›

    • YUSSSS!!!

      My review backlog is ridiculously AWOL – I have no idea where I even left off with my reviews! But, I just decide to review what really makes me excited, or mad. Which is probably why I don’t have a lot of three star reviews on my blog, and stick them on goodreads instead.

      Roll with it – sounds like a good idea!

  3. Not whiny at all! I completely get it. Sometimes I have like five-six books going at once because I’m just trying to find the genre that’ll suit my mood and get me back into the ‘need to read everything’ mindset I love so much.

  4. I’m not really a mood reader I don’t think – at least I think I get the urge to read a certain book mostly because of what it’s about and not what genre it is. But I also like sticking to a schedule because I don’t go through those periods where I just don’t know what to read next. I usually have my next three reads all planned out. So I wonder if that makes me a little weird and controlling, haha. It was interesting to read all your phases! But as long as you keep reading, I suppose it doesn’t really matter what kind of reader you are – just avoid those terrible book slumps! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Having three reads planned out isn’t so crazy – I’d say that’s a healthy level of to-read planning ๐Ÿ˜€

      Ughhhh the book slumps. I had one last year and I really hope it doesn’t happen again!

  5. I am such a mood reader, too. But I like being a mood reader! I haven’t had a huge ARC demand, though, so it’s a lot easier for me to read what I want. My phases this year have been pretty similar to yours (which is creepy). I had a Sci-fi fettish at the beginning, which then moved to dystopia and the odd fantasy mid feb. Just over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been craving contemp. Weirrreeeedddd.

    • Oh that is helpful! I had almost cleared out all my ARCs, but then requested a bunch more, and now I have to read them all one after another.

      Hehehe ๐Ÿ˜€ Sorry I’m laughing, but at least someone else understands!

  6. Pingback: Blogs I'm Lovin' [4] | My Novel OpinionMy Novel Opinion

  7. Oh, I agree entirely! Blogging has completely changed the way I read lately, and I don’t know if I like it. Readalongs, challenges – it all gives me a reading “schedule” that I’m starting to regret. Maybe it’s because I’m doing THREE readalongs/challenges this month, along with crazy studying for finals in two weeks. I’m starting to feel like reading is a chore – which is NOT GOOD. Right now, I really want to read Enders Game and maybe some more contemporary stuff… But that’ll have to wait for another couple weeks.

    • That’s why I don’t join readalongs or challenges; it always sounds like a great idea, but when it comes down to it, something gets in my way!

      Ohhh Ender’s Game is so amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope you enjoy it when you get around to it!

      • I’m really looking forward to reading it. My friend said that after you read the first book then you can choose which order to read the next?? Like it’s not specifically books 1, 2, 3, 4 etc like many series. What’s your take on this? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • After Ender’s Game, I recommend it in this order (but it’s a personal thing – they can be read any way!):

        To follow Ender’s Story:

        * Ender’s Shadow (same story, but from Bean’s POV
        * Ender in Exile (the years between EG and SftD
        * Speaker for the Dead (not my favorite)
        * Xenocide (haven’t actually read it)
        * Children of the Mind (also haven’t read it)

        To follow Bean’s Story: (I’ve only read Ender’s Shadow!)
        * Ender’s Shadow
        * Shadow of the Hegemon
        * Shadow Puppets
        * Shadow of the Giant
        * Shadows in Flight

        Then there’s also the trilogy about the first Formic war (with Mazer Rackham):
        * Earth Unaware
        * Earth Afire
        * Earth Awakens

        Hope that helps! Personally I like Ender’s Game and Ender’s Shadow, since that’s my favorite story, but it’s interesting to see how the world and characters are expanded in the other books.

      • Ah, okay, thanks for the recommendation. I got a set of four of the Ender’s Game books for my birthday, but it looks like Ender’s Shadow and Ender in Exile are missing! Oh no! I’ll have to get those soon.
        And sorry if this reply shows up in the wrong spot. I couldn’t figure out how to reply to the right comment… ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Ender’s Shadow technically is the first book in the Shadow Saga quartet thing, so that’s probably why ๐Ÿ™‚ And Ender in Exile is like a standalone ish.

  8. I’m a mood reader. It always depends on what mood am I in, what genre I am craving. At the start of the year, I only read mystery books. FOR A MONTH. And then, I stopped because I wanted to focus more on my studies. Now, summer vacation is my finally here (I live in Philippines, btw) for 1 whole week, I couldn’t stop reading contemporary books. I felt myself getting sick of the same story line and that’s why I switch genre again. I’m on mystery books again. Ugh. But I’m craving for some Rick Riordan.

    Sorry for rambling. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Oh wow! I can’t even read one mystery book, let alone a whole month of them!

      And THANKS A LOT for giving me Rick Riordan needs! I still haven’t read the Heroes of Olympus, and I’m forcing myself to wait until the last book comes out this fall so I can buy the boxed set. But it’s sooooo hard sometimes, especially when I see fan art on tumblr and I want to see all these characters in action!

  9. I have internal battles with this all the time. I make a schedule, and try to stick with it and then I get irritated and deviate… and then commit to the schedule and back and forth haha. When I first started blogging I was hella better at keeping to a schedule, now there is too many books and I feel like my head is spinning around in a circle when I look at my bookshelf. So to answer your question, yes I am a mood reader ๐Ÿ™‚ haha.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Apr 20-26, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Recap 24 (April 27) | The Thousand Lives

  12. I AM a mood reader, but I will also read on a schedule for publishers because I want them to get the review they expect and deserve.
    But I don’t have moods like you where I read a certain type of book. It’s more like my mood is all: YOU WANT TO READ THAT BOOK? YOU MUST BE JOKING BECAUSE I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK AND YOU’RE MY BITCH SO READ THAT BOOK NOW *MANIACAL LAUGHTER ENSUES*
    Seriously. I might even WANT to read a book but my mood will feel like a different book. =.=
    Although sometimes after I have read a slew of fantasy/sci-fi/dystopians about ending worlds and drama drama drama I will go and read a contemporary just to remind myself that not every character is fighting a force of evil, haha XD

    • Yeah, I’ve finally sat myself down to read some ARCs because the pub. dates are coming up really soon!

      OMG that is the best description of mood reading I’ve ever seen XD

      But fighting forces of evil is FUN

  13. Ahh mood reading – it’s the biggest pain ever when you have lots of ARCs to read and review =(

    I’m normally a mood reader too, but lately I’ve been trying to make a list of what I want to read each month, and I do stick to it, but I read other things too. I’m trying to be better about reading review copies (basically, I suck), especially with physical copies.

  14. I’m definitely a mood reader too! But I also have a habit of maxing out both my library card and my sister’s library card, so I often following a schedule of sorts after all, according to the due dates. At the moment this means that the next few books I have to read are sci-fi but I’m in such desperate need for a contempt fix, I actually caught myself glaring at my current line-up of books. I do want to read them all, there’s no denying that but my heart doesn’t want to read in that pre-determined order while my mind insists on not messing up my system. I don’t want to return unread books but I’ve a giant mood reader residing within my heart, so something’s gotta give. So yes, I totally understand your need to whine because I’m bursting to whine too. Hahaha.

    • I tried borrowing some books from the library a few weeks ago, but since I wasn’t in the mood I ended up missing their due date and had to return them!

      Whine away! I’m so glad you joined me ๐Ÿ˜€ I know exactly what you’re talking about – but the heart wants what the heart wants! And if that’s contemporary, so be it ๐Ÿ˜›

  15. Pingback: Retrospect #17: April 27th - Dudette Reads

  16. Pingback: April Wrap Up | Lose Time ReadingLose Time Reading

  17. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#31โ€“32) |

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

