Top Ten Books to Read If You Like…

TTT BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their amazing blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc. (basically any sort of other entertainment). I’ve chosen “If you like teen movies about finding yourself and your place in life and discovering romance and friendship.”  Uber long title, I know, and basically this is a list of all my contemporary favorites. So sit down and enjoy the ride!

1. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. Now, granted most teens will not spend one of their summers on a tour bus. HOWEVER, this book is actually very down to earth, despite the glitz and glamor parts.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This one, as I’ve said before, is near and dear to my heart because of how well I connect with Cath. 

3. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. ROAD TRIP WITH ROMANCE. How much better could it get?? Plus, Amy has a lot of emotional stuff to work through, and her character development is superb.

4. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. Where do I even start with Lola? I love that girl, wacky outfits and all ❤

5. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira. This one isn’t as light as the others; there’s some heavier subjects in here, but it’s still a story of self-discovery and growth.

6. Me Since You by Laura Wiess. I STILL don’t have a physical copy of this book. Shameful. This book changed my life, plain and simple.

7. The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder. This one is a bit darker than the others, more on the same level as Me Since You as far as heavy subjects, but it still deals with a lot of the “finding yourself” aspect.

8. The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry. This is a sweet romance with a touch of heavy, dealing with young wounded veterans and life changing diagnoses. I love how the author focuses on the need to take reasonability for your health and wellbeing!

9. Flat Out Love by Jessica Park. So much love and so much growth but yet so much PAIN! This is a bittersweet book, in the best possible way. I think Celeste’s journey is so amazing, and who could say no to Matt Watkins??

10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. You thought I wasn’t going to add this one, didn’t you? WRONG! Of course I couldn’t miss this book; it totally changed my life when I was in high school. Maybe not so much now if I read it again, but I’ll never forget the lessons it taught me when I was facing graduation.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to Read If You Like…

  1. Haha! I’ll definitely try Open Road Summer–your review was pretty persuasive. 😉 Totally agree about Fangirl and Amy & Roger’s. And Lola! Perks was a DNF for me, but it has some pretty useful lessons about finding oneself. 😉

    • *happy dance* I think you’re really going to enjoy it!

      Yeah, Perks I read years ago when I was in high school and could relate to a lot of what Charlie was experiencing, but I’m not so sure I’d love it as much now. I’m almost afraid to do a re-read for that reason!

    • I hadn’t even listened to any of Cobain’s music (though I did after I read the book) – now that I think about it, I hadn’t listed to any of the musicians mentioned in the novel. But I still enjoyed it, despite my lack of musical education 🙂

  2. I’ve only read Perks off this list but I really enjoyed this novel. Also, the movie is probably one of the few rare adaptations that i loved because it was so after the book.
    I still have to read a bunch of others, mostly Fangirl, I heard so much about it.
    Happy reading!

    • I totally agree about the adaptation, and I may even like the movie a bit better than the book!

      If I had to pick one for you to read on this entire list, it’d have to be Open Road Summer!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

