Review Roundup: January – April, Pt. I

Round up pt 1

Since the beginning of the year, I’ve read 51 books. Yes, 51. That’s actually way more than I had thought. Woohoo! Clearly, I haven’t reviewed 51 books. Not even close. So, since I’m so backlogged on my reviews, I’m going to shove them all together and give a bunch of mini-reviews *mini meaning three-ish paragraphs, since I clearly cannot contain myself when I start typing* This is part one, part two will eventually be along. Eventually. This isn’t to say that I disliked them, in fact, only one out of the seven received less than four stars! Most are some of my favorites, so be prepared for some fangirling!

Oh, and it’s very late and I’ve slept very little, so SPOILER ALERTS since I’m too exhausted to censor myself. Also, forgive the grammar.

Title: Pushing the Limits
Author: Katie McGarry
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Hardback
Find it: Goodreads

After I read Crash Into You, I knew I needed to go back to the beginning. So with my Christmas money, I bought the entire series, and binged them all. OMG SO WORTH IT. My heart broke for Noah and Echo, and honestly I teared up so many times because why can’t life just give them a break. But that’s why these are my favorite books — they’re about beaten down people who just keep fighting and I had that swelling in my heart where I’m like THESE ARE MY BABIES and cheering them on from the sidelines as they defeat their demons and fall in love along the way. Because clearly Echo and Noah were made for each other. Clearly.

Also, besides the romance, Noah’s journey with his brothers were alternately heart-breaking/heart-warming. The maturity was astounding, but at the same time I just kept asking whyyyyy why so much pain why can’t they all be happy and live in one big house with like 20 families shoved together?? But the resolution was the best I could have hoped for, and McGarry handled it so well.

A new favorite for sure, and I’m already re-reading it barely 3 months later!

My Final Rating:

Anchors Aweigh

Title: Dare You To
Author: Katie McGarry
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Hardback
Find it: Goodreads

 McGarry has done it again. Honestly, you would think I’d get tired of the formula being reworked a bit each time to get the almost-same story, but hot diggity I’ll be buying book 23 when I’m in a wheelchair if it kills me. This time, it’s punk Beth and jock Ryan — who, by the way, stole my heart with his little writer soul. I really connected to Ryan more than Beth, actually, just because I know several people who are in his position, and I wished I could help him just as much as I yearn to help those real-life people.

BUT THE RAIN WATER AND THE RIBBONS SOMEONE PLEASE HOLD ME.

Ahem. Anyway, I loved it. Plain and simple. I will admit that it’s my least favorite of the series, but by like .025 percent. Please don’t make me pick my favorite of the three. And God help me when Take Me On is released and I fall in love with West even though he was a royal douchebag in Crash Into You. I’m really hoping that Ryan and Beth are somehow incorporated – I missed them when I was reading CIY!

My Final Rating:

Anchors Aweigh

Title: Pivot Point
Author: Kasie West
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Hardback
Find it: Goodreads

Even though I’m more open to paranormal nowadays, I still prefer the lighter stuff. This is more of a contemporary, except the chapters alternate between the Para world and the Norm world. I prefer the Norm world, because TREVOR. I think it’s also because the world-building was a bit lacking in this one, so in the Norm world it was easier to pretend that this was a contemporary book with a girl who just so happened to be able to see the future every once in a while.

The concept was great, and while there was a bit of a falter in the execution, I thought that overall it was really interesting! Plus, having the vocabulary words at the top of each chapter was really cool – I loved how PARA or NORM was in brackets, so you could tell which world Addie was in in that chapter. Overall, an enjoyable read (that ending left me going WHAT), but I’m not running out to buy Split Second.

My Final Rating:

Four Anchors

Title: Clockwork Angel
Author: Cassandra Clare
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Paperback
Find it: Goodreads

Okay, I totally get it. I REALLY enjoyed Clockwork Angel, even more so than The Mortal Instruments I think! I enjoyed Tessa’s spunk, and her fighting personality. Plus, Jem. Oh my poor heart it has been stolen by Jem Carstairs ❤ Veronica can have Will for all I care – he really came off as a huge douchebag. I’m sure I’ll find the chip on his shoulder in book two, but for now I’m satisfied with being a Jessa shipper.

The steampunk feel was something I hadn’t read before, so that was a nice foray into new territory. And YAY for Tessa not being a Shadowhunter! I mean, she’s still badass, but I love how she’s not just a perfect fit into the group like Clary was with the Lightwoods as far as same species(?) sort of thing. I can’t wait to read Clockwork Prince, but I’m also so terribly afraid of the feels because I know they’re coming and I’ll have to go buy tissues for all this emotion.

My Final Rating:

Five Anchors

Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Hardback
Find it: Goodreads

 Ajljfklajfdsd. The love for this book cannot even be put into words ❤ Cinder was good, but not great. Scarlet was not only great, but it was AMAZEBALLS. Scarlet’s sass and boldness was so refreshing: she was bold and dynamic and I love her to pieces. Wolf was just… oh man. He’s perfect. He’s perfect and she’s perfect and they’re PERFECT together and I ship it. So hard. The twist about Wolf’s past was unexpected, and I’m pretty sure I scraped my chin on the floor.

On the other side of the story, Cinder with Thorne was an amazing plot as well. Their sarcastic, slightly antagonistic friendship was so refreshing in that it was purely platonic, and there was never a love triangle trying to enter the fray! Plus, Thorne is Thorne. And he’s flawless, in a totally flawed sort of way. He’s arrogant, swaggering, and a bit of an ass at times, but at the base of it all he’s got a heart of gold and the compassion to go with it.

Okay, okay, I’ll stop. READ THIS SERIES PLEASE DO NOT WAIT LIKE I DID. Seriously, this has broken the “bad book two” curse.

My Final Rating:

Anchors Aweigh

Title: The Archived
Author: Victoria Schwab
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Paperback
Find it: Goodreads

I’ll admit, the beginning of this book was a bit slow. After a chilling prologue that sets up this gloomy, mysterious atmosphere, I felt kind of let down for the first few chapters. But then things really started picking up, and I found myself sucked into the story completely! Once the whole Wesley plot twist came into play, I was sold. Okay — Wes. He’s so atypical; the flashy hair, painted nails, a total non-pretty boy. But he was goofy, and charming, and a great friend for Mac. Can I please find someone who will read me Dante while I clean the kitchen??

About 2/3 of the way through, the plot slowed down again for me, but that may just be because I don’t like mysteries all that much and I hate being led on. So it’s a personal issue, and I mostly got over it. The other thing that bothered me was Mac’s attitude towards the Histories: she really slacked off on her responsibilities, and I just kept thinking, aren’t you supposed to be doing this as your job?? But by the end, I liked her again, and the ending made me smile. I won a copy of The Unbound, so I’ll get to reading that one eventually too.

My Final Rating:

Four Anchors

Title: The Shadowhunter’s Codex
Author: Cassandra Clare & Joshua Lewis
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Hardback
Find it: Goodreads

 I read this back when I was binging the entire Mortal Instruments series (though I stopped after City of Glass). It was after CoG, so right when I was losing that ardor I had. It was a nice way to say goodbye to the series for a while. The whole idea was great – more world building for the Shadowhunter world – but ultimately it came off as a schoolbook rather than an extra add-on. Some parts were pretty dry, and I found myself skimming in certain chapters.

HOWEVER! I really loved all the written in notes from Clary, Jace, and Simon, as well as the doodles on some of the pages. The characters were sassy, if a bit goofy, and it gave some levity to the dryness of the pages. So ultimately I’m glad I read the Codex, because I have a better understanding of the Shadowhunter world, but it’s something that now that I’ve read it, I’ll just peruse every once in a while and pick what chapter to look at.

My Final Rating:

Three Anchor

4 thoughts on “Review Roundup: January – April, Pt. I

  1. Seriously, 51 books already!? I think I have 40+, but that’s including the manga I’ve read. >< I have got to read Pushing the Limits! I really liked Pivot Point as well. 🙂 Scarlet was awesome, and Cress even more so! ❤ The Archived, AHHH. Super awesome. Wes. <33 I haven't read The Shadowhunter's Codex yet (and probably won't)–not a huge Cassie Clare fan. 😛

    • I know! It’s more than I thought, actually. And hey, a book is a book, manga or not!

      Yeah, the only reason I read the Codex was because I was OBSESSED with the series at one point. I guess now it’s more for shelf decoration 😛

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

