Weekly Recap 26 (May 11)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! Once again, this week has been fairly stressful, just trying to finish up these final weeks of school. But I’m trying to just take one day at a time, and I’ll be in the summer months before I know it. So if I’m slow on replies or commenting, I’m really sorry! I promise I love all of you, and I’m reading your posts even if I don’t leave a comment ❤

Stacking the Shelves

I broke the ban. Spectacularly so, if I do say so myself.

photo-2Of course, I had to run out and buy Morgan Matson’s new book Since You’ve Been Gone the day it was released. Is there really any other option when it comes to Matson’s writing?? And while I was there, I splurged on What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick, because I’d had an unexpected tutoring job and had a bit extra to spend. I’ve already finished SYBG (OMG LOVE) and I’ve started WITWT (totally enjoying it; I’m already thinking of going back to get her other book). The other books were a bookoutlet fun time – $25 for all four books, including shipping! Not a bad day, in my opinion 😀 I’ve wanted to read Unremembered since I met Jessica Brody back in October, Antigoddess is one I was interested in, but didn’t want to pay $20 since I’d heard mixed reviews, If You Find Me I’ve heard is AMAZING but I never got around to buying it, and Rush is the same as Antigoddess as far as I think I might like it but I’m not sure so since it was cheap I won’t be so upset if I’m meh about them.

I love breaking bans 😀

In other news…

I figured out why I’d started to slip back into the lethargy/depression/insomnia/short-tempered version of Kayla again: I had switched to a different thyroid supplement that actually ended up being a less potent mix, plus I only took it once a day. The original supplements I took twice a day, so even though they were lower doses, I was actually taking more because of the 2x thing. So now I’m back on my original supplements, and I already feel a difference. I was able to work out for an hour Friday night after my 10 hour work day – something I hadn’t been able to do all week prior to that! So now that I’m back on track with the hormones, I should have all the energy I need to get through my next two weeks of craziness.

I stopped by Hot Topic at the mall the other day, and picked up two TFiOS shirts. One is a tank and one is a tshirt; the tank has the infinities quote, and the shirt has the constellations quote. I love them both, and they actually fit pretty well! Speaking of TFiOS, I’ve decided to do a reread before I see the movie next month. So if I start crying on twitter, you’ll know why. You have been warned.

What’s coming up this week?

  • Monday – The Writing Life is back with a discussion on “when life takes over” *may not get to this one due to my schedule*
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten books I almost put down but didn’t
  • Wednesday – Review of The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider *a rollover from last week, oops!*
  • Thursday – Wild card! Who knows what I’ll end up doing!
  • Friday – Review of Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Hope you all have a good week!

13 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 26 (May 11)

  1. Unremembered was pretty enjoyable for me. I wasn’t sure about buying it but I met Jessica in October as well and she changed my mind about buying it.

    Hope you enjoy all your books!

  2. Well as four of them were cheap then it was really all about the maths, Kayla! I mean, isn’t looking out for bargains like this just good sense? 😉 Enjoy your book haul! I’ve not been too sure about Anti Goddess either so be interested to see your thoughts on that one!

  3. That is a spectacular haul to break your ban on! I LOVE Morgan and I can’t wait for Since You’ve Been Gone to come out here. 😀 I loved Antigoddess, so I hope you enjoy that one. =) And go rock your new TFiOS shirts! <33

    • Ohhh I’m so glad to hear you liked Antigoddess! I’ve heard a lot of people say it was meh, so now I’ve got a bit more hope for it 😀

      I wore my tshirt to teaching on Monday, and one of my students walked in, saw it, and said, “Oh my god your shirt I CAN’T” and basically had a fangirl breakdown. It was fabulous!

    • Oh, they’re not my finals hehe. I’m a teacher 🙂 Though I’m sure my students will love the good wishes! Since You’ve Been Gone is amazing – I highly recommend it! It’s a perfect spring/summer romance/coming of age story.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

