The Book Blogger Test

Book Blogger Test

Oodles of love to Nara @ Looking for the Panacea for tagging me in this! The rules are simple: answer a few questions and then tag some other bloggers. Here we go!

What are your top three book pet peeves?

1. Glorified romances that are actually unhealthy and/or abusive

2. Sci-fi books that focus more on the romance rather than the SCIENCE (same goes for fantasy, actually)

3. Books with beautiful covers that draw me in but are actually horrible novels. Because I’m such a cover snob and it seems like the book then takes that as a personal challenge.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

In a perfect world: a house by the beach in a hammock, or a cabin in the mountains with a hammock. Either way – outside with a nice breeze, some iced tea, and a hammock. But this is not a perfect world, so I’d have to say my bed.

Tell us three book confessions.

1. If I could read the bodice-ripper type books without the erotica, I would. I love the angst and drama and the “DAMMIT LOOK PAST YOUR SECRETS AND MISUNDERSTANDINGS AND FORBIDDENNESS AND JUST FALL IN LOVE WHY DON’T YOU”. All the ones about the rakes and ladies and high society – I eat that up. Poor fourteen year old me was just trying to read a good historical romance… didn’t know what the Harlequin title entailed. BUT I HAVE LEARNED. This is probably why I love Katie McGarry’s writing so much – it has that flavor of angst, but it’s present day. I make do.

2. I used to dog-ear my book pages. All. The. Time. I use bookmarks now though – I’m reformed!

3. I’m a sucker for the Dean Winchester types. Broken bad boys burdened with the world’s troubles but have hearts of gold underneath and just need someone to love on them. Those boys. It could be the crappiest plot in the world but I WILL LOVE IT ANYWAY.

When was the last time you cried during a book?

SHALL WE COUNT THEM?? Most recent was my reread of The Fault In Our Stars. I was still bawling – but I made it until the last five pages before I lost it this time! And before that it was… Big Fat Disaster. And that was one of those “I’m crying because I’m so angry and crying is a better alternative to punching a hole in my wall” kind of books.

How many books are on your bedside table?

I don’t really have a bedside table; I have a headboard thing with a cavern that I shove books in. Right now it’s holding The Lord of the Rings series and The Chronicles of Narnia series, along with a few hardbacks that are too tall for my bookshelf.

What is your favorite snack to eat while reading?

Apples with nutella works, and I really love popcorn, though I’m afraid I’ll get the pages greasy!

Name three books you’d recommend to everyone.

I’m totally cheating here, and I’m going to add some series. BECAUSE NARA DID IT AND SO WILL I. Oh, and this goes without saying, but Harry Potter is number one. But I’m not adding it because HP is a series that is very close to my heart and shaped part of my childhood, and I understand that for others it may not be as important. Also, understand that this is an UNFAIR question and I could never narrow it down to JUST three books O_O So go forth with that information, and read these three recommendations:

1. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. WHATISTHISACONTEMPORARYONKAYLA’SLIST??? Well that should give you clear proof of how much this book means to me.

2. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. The world building, the characters, the romance, the mythology – it’s all so flawlessly done! Plus, The Darkling. He’s morally ambiguous, seductive, and manipulative, and his psychology is BEYOND interesting to study. And did I mention Sturmhond??? Privateers have never been so sexy; sorry Captain Sparrow.

3. The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. With a strong, kickass assassin for a heroine, who also happens to be the one of the most feminine characters I’ve read in a while, Throne of Glass is possibly one of my favorite series ever. Maas proves that you can be both beautiful with silk dresses and makeup, and deadly and get things done when needed.

Show us a picture of your favorite shelf on your bookcase.

Here’s the whole shelf, in all its slightly-organized, blurry beauty:

photo 1And here’s my favorite shelf, ironically enough the contemporary one. It’s overflowing as of right now!

photo 3

And then when you take the books off the front:

photo 2

I just love all the colors and how they blend together ๐Ÿ™‚

Write how much books mean to you in three words.

Kept me company. A more accurate title would be “books made me feel like I wasn’t completely alone in the world.” High school was full of dark days for me, folks. Nowadays they’re more like close friends, but from ages 13-17 they were lifelines.

What is your biggest reading secret?

But I just gave three up at the top?? Uhh okay here’s the best I can do: I read the Twilight books and LOVED them. *Katy Perry singing in the background* Nowadays not so much because ew abusive relationship ahoy. But 14 year old me? Ate. Them. Up.

Time to tag!

I’m going with… Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity, Miranda @ Tempest Books, and anyone else who wants to do it! Sorry I’m lazy – Supernatural season finale just started as I write this and I MUST FOCUS ON MY BABIES NOW.

25 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Test

  1. 14 yr old me loved Twilight too! i think all 14 yr olds do. Before you realise what an actual relationship is and how human beings are supposed to act.

    Tell me what you thought of the Supernatural finale! The end?? Like… so many questions??

    • FEELS. THAT’S WHAT I THINK. I will not survive the next 145 days until S10 O_O

      But in all seriousness, I need to rewatch it so I can catch all the nuances. I think it was a gutsy move, but it’s opened up a lot of potential for S10. S9 wasn’t… fabulous… so I’m hoping it turns up a bit with this whole development.

      • I feel the same. The story hasn’t captured my attention but I’m too invested in the characters to even contemplate not watching. It’s very exciting Dean is finally getting some supernatural story arcs for once, though. I have hope for S10. The show has always been up and down over the years imo. But overall it’s worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah, season 7 was my least favorite, but then 8 was fantastic, and 9 was iffy, so I guess it’s just an up and down sort of thing. But I’m too committed to the series to not keep watching it!

      • The jokes were hilarious, but the Leviathans seemed over-hyped to me. Like they were supposed to be these insurmountable monsters, but in the end they offed them pretty easily. I just enjoyed the season for the characters ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. LOL, I LOVE angst, but only when there isn’t too much of it. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I have to read from Katie McGarry soon! I haven’t read The Beginning of Everything, either! D: I’ve read books one for both The Grisha and Throne of Glass and both were so-so reads for me. I love your shelves!! So pretty. *_* Don’t worry, I’m 14 and Twilight’s pretty entertaining for me. The movies, anyway. The books were kinda boring. ;P

    • YES! Read McGarry’s books! All of them!

      Awww D: Okay, for both those series: the second book is better. Especially the Throne of Glass series – book 2 is 10x better, and the novellas are breath-taking.

  3. I remember the time I stumbled upon a Harlequin. Poor me almost fainted! ๐Ÿ˜„ I just read Pushing the Limits and it was so touching and not what I had termed it!

    I really want to read The Beginning of Everything! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ And Dean is just the BEST!!! *_* I think I’d be shattered without books; high school is deadly! ๐Ÿ˜„

    Your bookshelf is soo pretty! I’m looking forward to Since You’ve Been Gone!

    Yes, dogearing is one of the things I used to do as well! :p I hate how books can’t survive without romance.

    Also, three words for TFiOS: I can’t even!!!! *dies*

  4. Thanks for the tag! Ooh I’m jealous of all your pretty Pushing the Limits hardbacks. I have the first one in hardcover, but really need to get DYT and CIY too! I keep flip-flopping over whether I should just preorder Take Me On. My library doesn’t seem to be ordering it yet…so I don’t want to have to wait forever to read it! But I hate having to spend that much. Especially since I’m still kind of scared I won’t like it since I’m not 100% sure on West :/

    • If you don’t pre-order it, I’ll be running out next Tuesday to buy it myself and probably reading it that day, so if you want to wait and then I’ll give you the official report on West ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m going in with an open mind: I didn’t think I’d like Beth, but I fell in love with her once I really got to know her struggles. I think the same will happen with West.

  5. haha I’m a bad influence ๐Ÿ˜› BUT HOW COULD YOU NOT CHEAT ON THAT QUESTION? It’s impossible.
    I remember quite liking Twilight when it first came out as well! I didn’t like New Moon so much, but I definitely enjoyed the first book. I’m afraid to go back and read it now, because I’m pretty sure my rating would go waaaaaay down lol

  6. “Iโ€™m a sucker for the Dean Winchester types. Broken bad boys burdened with the worldโ€™s troubles but have hearts of gold underneath and just need someone to love on them.” UGH!! YES!! And after all my rants about what makes a strong female character, how am I still so drawn to these guys? Haha. Loved this list! -t

  7. Yessss a cabin in the mountains! I remember this one time Mum and I did an impromptu one night getaway up the mountain and we stayed in this old Victorian house and we just spent the day reading on the lounge because it was raining. One of my favourite memories ^.^
    YOU DOG EARED PAGES? *GASPING* HOW COULD YOUUU
    Oh, Dean Winchester. Eeeep. I love him so much, but I know I would be more likely to fall for Sammy if I met their types in real life. I love me an intellectual sexy boy ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I love that I recognised your shelves! It made me feel all special and in the know ^.^
    Also YOUR NEW BLOG DESIGN IS SAH PERDY WIFEY!!! โค

    • Oh my god that sounds amazing! I want to go next time ๐Ÿ˜€

      I know, I know. I’m a horrible person.

      I fall for Dean on the screen, but the truth is that I’m sure I’d go for Sam in real life too ๐Ÿ™‚

      AHhhhh THANK YOU!!! I felt like it was time for an update, plus it was summer and I wanted a brighter feel ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. This made me LOL and don’t worry, I ate the twilight books up to. I was absolutely obsessed. But I have been cured although emmett will always have a special place in my heart. That lovable bastard. Also, I see one of my babies on your bookshelf โค

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

