Weekly Recap 29 (June 1)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! I had a great few days, with work being very busy and keeping me on my feet. Not to mention all the BEA madness going on! It only made me more intent on making it myself in the next few years! But for now, reading all your recap posts and seeing all the book hauls is fabulous enough.

Stacking the Shelves Stocking My Stereo

So today begins my enormous book ban – a zero tolerance policy that has to last until July 1 at least, with the sole exception of Ruin and Rising when it releases on the 17th. Now in reality that won’t be too hard – I mean, it’s only thirty days. But that means no walking in to Barnes and Noble for thirty days. And that’s a very scary thought O_O That place is like my home away from home. Walking in just makes me immediately relax. But… alas, we shall be parted. So instead I decided to partake in my other addiction: music. One of my favorite parts of the day is getting off work and driving home with my music blasting in my *awful, terrible, broken* speakers. Soooo….

photo-2Tada! Passenger’s All the Little Lights and Ed Sheeran’s + (or Plus, depending on how you want to call it). Also known as “the shiny objects that will distract me when I drive past BN.”

In other news…

  • I think I’m finally catching the cold that’s been running around for a few weeks. I’m exhausted, even though I only worked two hours today (Saturday). It’s a bit like my head has been stuffed with cotton. So instead of doing anything productive as I had planned (I lie – I was going to marathon Supernatural anyway), my sister and I bought some nachos and sodas, and watched The Devil Wears Prada. And she massaged my neck and head, which was fabulous. Seriously, I could have fallen asleep sitting up right there.
  • I’m rereading the Grisha series to prep for R&R, and I’m about 1/3 through Siege and Storm already. Ooohhhhh myyyy gooooodddddd they are even better the second time around. Seriously, I’m falling in love with these characters all over again. Especially Tolya and Tamar – they need their own trilogy.

What’s coming up this week?

  • Monday – Review of Essence by Lisa Ann O’Kane
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books In My Beach Bag
  • Wednesday – Review of Breaking Free by Abby Sher
  • Thursday – Mental Health Awareness Month: My Personal Journey
  • Friday – Review of Take Me On by Katie McGarry!

Hope you all have a good week!

11 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 29 (June 1)

    • Hehe, I try! I used to be iTunes all the way, but then I started driving and the car I was borrowing only had a CD player. So I just got used to buying discs instead of MP3s! My new car has an auxiliary plug, so sometimes I bring my iPod in, but I’m just used to using the disc player now 🙂

      • Hey, I’ll do you one better — my car is so old that it ONLY has a tape deck. Like…not even a CD player with it 😛 I have a thing that lets me use my iPhone to play it through the tape deck, though, so at least there’s that. Because I’m pretty sure Ed Sheeran’s album doesn’t come on tape lol, so I stick to Spotify.

      • It’s not letting me reply to your reply! But whatever, you’ll figure it out 😛

        It was confusing for me at first, too. But eventually I realized that I like it A LOT better than iTunes. If you’re an avid music fan, you end up spending a lot less (if you’re doing mp3s and not CDs, unlike some people 😉 ). There’s a free version of Spotify, but basically if you want to listen to it from your phone, you have to pay. It’s $10/month and you get access to ALL THE SONGS. So while one song on iTunes is $1.29 or $1.99, instead you pay a bit more up front and get so much more. There are a very very small amount of songs that, for whatever reason, aren’t on Spotify. In that case, you would just download it from iTunes and then you can upload it to your Spotify and still be able to include it in your Spotify playlists and stuff. But that’s only happened to me…twice? I think since I started using it a year ago. So I think that’s a pretty good deal! I know that you’re more into CDs, so it may not be the thing for you. But if you want to start using mp3s more, I highly recommend it. I can try to answer any questions you have 🙂

  1. Ooh, book buying bans are so hard! I actually find going to Barnes & Noble and simply breathing in the air, etc. makes me feel better–but that’s me. I get a coffee normally and just roammmmmm. AH! Grisha reread! That’s awesome! I want to have time for that, but probably not. I’ll read the Recaptions thing and that’ll have to suffice. Ruin & Rising is SO CLOSE!

    • I think I may still do that, and get the coffee and just be in the cafe and enjoy the atmosphere 🙂 But it’s so hard walking among the books and knowing I won’t be able to read them yet!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

