Top Ten Books In My Beach Bag

TTT Banner
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books In Your Beach Bag. Well, I’m not a beach sort of girl. Or a pool person. I’d love to be, but I have no access to a pool, and the beach is at least an hour away. And with gas so expensive, beach trips are far and few between! Not to mention the fact that me and bathing suits are mortal enemies. BUT! I do love it when the weather’s about 70-80 degrees, and I can wear some capris and a sweater and sit under an umbrella enjoying the breeze. Ahh… now I’m so in the mood for the beach. GAS PRICES BE DAMNED I’M GETTING THERE WITHIN A MONTH.

Anyhoo, here’s my list of books that should definitely be in beach bags this summer. Keeping in mind that my entire goal is to get the books that lift my heart and make me happy – so don’t expect any TFiOS types in here!

Books I’d Read Again

1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I know I just read it, but I need a re-read already! The cover looks like exactly how the book makes me feel – fluffy and pink (yes, pink is an emotion) and whimsical.

2. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. It deals with some slightly harder topics, but in such a wry, sarcastic way that I was laughing the entire time. Plus, it’s insanely geeky, and I love every bit of it. 

3. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I mean, how can you skip this book? This is the quintessential summertime book. You’ll finish reading it and want ice cream, fireworks, and sunny morning runs.

4. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. Hello, it has summer in the title. Case closed. Besides that: Matt Finch. Oh dear Lord in Heaven Above give me strength to accept the fact that the boy is merely fictional.

5. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Yep, another Matson book. What can I say – the girl has summertime in her veins! This one does have some sad bits; I’d say it’s the heaviest one on this list. But it’s so worth it in the end!

Books I Want to Read

6. Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid. It’s not released until the end of July (forever crying about that fact), but it’s a ROAD TRIP book. And ya’ll know how much I love my road trippers. So OF COURSE I’ll be running out and getting my copy, and maybe it’ll be my excuse to drive down to the beach.

7. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I just bought my copy, after the urging of many of my friends (Andi you’re such book pusher, you deserve a trophy). I’ve read What I Thought Was True, and it was a wee bit heavier than I expected. So I’m wondering if MLND will be the same way. But, heavy or not, it still looks so adorable that I can’t wait to read it!

So I kind of ran out of books that I would read at the beach. I mean, I have a million TO read, but I have this thing where contemporary and beach just go together – I’d have a really hard time getting into anything sci-fi or fantasy while my toes are in the sand. When I’m out in the sun, I need a bright book.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books In My Beach Bag

  1. Such a great summery list! MLND, Amy & Roger, and Open Road Summer are some of my all-time faves. (I greatly prefer MLND to WITWT for what it’s worth) I hope to sneak in Let’s Get Lost this summer too.
    Enjoy all your summer reading adventures 🙂

  2. I don’t read a lot of contemporary but I totally want to read The Beginning of Everything and LETS GET LOST even more so because of the road trip aspect and how it is told. I will most definitely be snatching that one up. I took a road trip alone cross country when I was 18 and I love it when I can relate personally to a story.

  3. I so want to read The Beginning of Everything but my library does have it. Gah. XD It’s on my wishlist to buy, though!! LOVE your picks! I haven’t read any of them, oops, but a lot are on my TBR. Ooh, yay for summer! I’m in winter right now. *claws desperately at your summer* ENJOY IT.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    • BAD LIBRARY. NO. I think you’ll enjoy a few of these 🙂 Hopefully you can read them soon!

      Ewww you can take my summer. It’s already been 100 here we’re not even into the hot part of summer!

    • Well I don’t think there’s been one since we “met” that hasn’t been influenced by you! And you haven’t steered me wrong yet, so of course I’ll read anything you recommend 😉

  4. Sunny morning runs?? I don’t think I’ve ever wanted one of those in my whole life 😛

    You’re killing me with all of these contemporaries. I wish I’d planned some into my schedule :/ Maybe it’s time for a revamp. I NEED to read Open Road Summer and Since You’ve Been Gone likerightnow

    • Ahhh I used to not want them either but now that I’ve been exercising more and getting that thyroid stuff taken care of I’m like YES MORE EXERCISE LET’S GO RUNNING!!! But my mom won’t let me run alone, and I don’t have anyone to go with 😦

      BE FLEXIBLE Miranda! Read what you want, when you want 😉

  5. These all seem like sweet summer reads but I am not a fan of such books. I honestly don’t know why, too sugary? 😀 I’ll try a few because I must explore more than 1 genre 🙂 Maybe try Epic Detour first 🙂

    Happy reading!

    Come enter my giveaways!

    • Sugary is a good word for these books 🙂 They’re more than that too, but sugary does cover parts of it. I’ve been in that sort of mood, so they work for me! And YES try Epic Detour for sure!

  6. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is so precious! Such a perfect beach read. 🙂 I just got Open Road Summer from the library–so excited. I want to read Let’s Get Lost and My Life Next Door tooooo! 😀

  7. Pingback: Weekly Recap 30 (June 8) | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

