Weekly Recap 30 (June 8)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! I think I’ve finally settled into the swing of summertime and not having classes to teach or prepare for. It’s a bit weird, only working part time, but it’s actually pretty nice now.

Stacking the Shelves

So… you know that whole “book ban” thing? Yeah, I don’t know what you’re talking about either. BUT I HAD MORE COUPONS AND THEY WERE SUPER CHEAP AND I COULDN’T SAY NO.

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 5.29.46 PMOf course, I needed Where She Went, since the movie is coming out in a little less than two months now. And Say What You Will has been on my radar for a few weeks now, and I’ve heard nothing but positive feedback. Plus, I’m running out of contemporaries to read, and I’m still binging on that genre, so really I saved myself from a reading slump.

And OH MAN have I got some amazing news for my NetGalley haul:

I mean, can life get any better?? I about fell off my bed when I woke up and checked my email to see the approval notice from Bloomsbury for Heir of Fire. And Crushed is one I’ve been waiting for for what seems like forever, after I finished the first book Cracked last year. Another awesome thing: my review for Cracked is blurbed on the NG page for Crushed, AND the book’s website!

In other news…

  • I think Tuesday was like the BEST day I’ve had in a long time. Right when I woke up, I got that email for Heir of Fire. Ten minutes later, I was DMed by Francine, and did a quick interview for her blog, Fluffy Reads! Then I did my morning routine, and then – hold your breath – I wore a tank top AND shorts together! *happy dance* Maybe this means I’ll start working up to actually wearing a bathing suit πŸ˜€ After I got home from running some errands, I was emailed by Lisa at Read. Breathe. Relax. about a giveaway I had won. AND OH MY GOD THE GIVEAWAY!!! It was for a whole set of the TMI books, PLUS a TMI sweatshirt! I almost fell off the couch, and I’m pretty sure the noises I made would have split ear drums. So yes, Tuesday was lovely ❀
  • I took my mom out to see Maleficent for an early birthday celebration, and we both really enjoyed it! The ending was a wee bit rushed for our taste, but the glorious graphics made up for it. Plus, MALEFICENT. Can I have a poster of her beauty so I can stare at it every night??

In case you missed it, last week I…

What’sΒ comingΒ up this week?

  • Monday –Β Review ofΒ My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday:Β Best Books of the Year So Far
  • Wednesday – NEW FEATURE! Saturated Reading: What I Thought Was True
  • Thursday – Mental Health Awareness Month:Β Books I’ve read and Books I Want to Read that focus on MH
  • Friday –Β Review of… whatever book I’m in the mood for πŸ˜›

Hope you all have a good week!

13 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 30 (June 8)

  1. YAY for such a great week! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Ooh, I hope you like Where She Went! It’s probably going to make you cry. πŸ™‚ And I’ve heard nothing but great things about Say What You Will as well! I’m planning on reading it this week, too. HEIR OF FIREEEEEE! I didn’t fall off my bed, but I squealed and did a happy dance when I got it too! SO EXCITED. Now we have to control ourselves until closer to release date… Gah.

    I hope you have another great week Kayla! πŸ˜€

    • *pulls out the tissues* *grabs some chocolate* My body is ready. BRING IT ON.

      I plan on reading the entire series again, just so I’m prepared. I’ll probably read it in… July? Early August? Sometime then. And I’m sure I’ll reread Heir of Fire when I get my finished copy as well πŸ˜€

      I hope you have a great week as well!

  2. Woohoo on Heir of Fire!!!! *fist pump*

    Say What You Will is such a pretty cover! *_*And YAY for Awesome Tuesdays!(TM Me XD)
    That new feature is screaming brilliance!

    • YESSS!

      Isn’t it?? I think there was a different one before, but I really like this cover for it.

      TM you? Am I missing something? *so confused*

      I can’t wait to share the feature!

    • I’m so glad to hear that! I’m just finishing up an ARC now and then I’ll get started on it!

      I think the green is my favorite out of the series so far; Assassin’s Blade is a close second though πŸ˜‰

  3. That’s so cool about your review for Cracked! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I really need to read that book. So happy for you and your Netgalley haul! (: Happy reading!

    And wasn’t Maleficent so good? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ God, Angelina Jolie is just beautiful. *___*

    • I know! I was pretty happy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I highly recommend the series!

      Oh my god… her cheekbones O_O I could stare at her face for hours… just like, pause it right on a closeup and I’d be happy.

  4. Wow! Awesome week! πŸ™‚

    Question…I always hear about you going to B&N (right?) and using coupons there. Is it really worth it? Like how much were those books that you got? It’s been YEARS since I’ve shopped there, but after hearing some other people say that sometimes they go and use coupons, I’ve been reconsidering. But I’m not sure if the savings are actually worth it β€” as opposed to waiting for a good deal on Amazon or shopping on BookOutlet.com. But I kinda miss book shopping in person! Well I do go to my used bookstore, which I love and is really fun, but it’d be cool to be able to look at some newer books, too.

    • Yes! It’s my favorite store πŸ˜€ I find that it IS worth it, mostly because of my buying habits. I used to be Amazon all the way, because I was buying a lot of books all at once. But now that I try to buy one or two books at a time, it ends up being about the same price, since I’d have to pay for shipping anyway. When I get a 15% off coupon, I try to use it because I share a membership with Veronica and that gets me an extra 10% off. So usually I can get a hardback for $14 and a paperback for about $7. Those two books were $23 in total I think πŸ˜€ Plus, it’s just so nice to walk around and be IN the bookstore. So even if I spend a few extra dollars here and there, I think it’s worth it πŸ™‚

      • Oh okay that was actually really helpful. I think it would end up being cheaper for me to buy books on Amazon, then, since I have Prime and get free shipping. I still do like walking around bookstores, but I go to my local used one enough that I still get to have some of that experience. I know that your local one is closed, you said, so it probably makes a bigger difference for you since you don’t get to do that as often. Thanks for explaining πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

