Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

TTT Banner
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year. I’ve had an incredible string of FANTASTIC reads, so I’ll try to keep it to just ten. No promises though! I’ve listed them in order, starting from January up until now.

1. Avalon by Mindee Arnett. This was the beginning of my two month romance with deep-space sci-fi. I CRAVED anything space ship related for weeks after finishing this book. The friendships are my absolute favorite; Jeth is one of my favorite characters I’ve read in a while.

2. Me Since You by Laura Wiess. I’m honestly not sure I can talk about this book any more than I already have. Seriously, you all need to read it. It changed my life ❤

3. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Cress is a close runner up for this slot, but Scarlet still has my heart. I loved both MCs: Scarlet and Wolf. And their relationship is SO perfect!

4. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. Another one that really, I’ve talked way too much about. But the character development in this conclusion was just flawless, and honestly I need a reread. If only for Kenji! But Juliette is great incentive as well, as is Warner 😉

5. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. This is one that made my heart hurt so much, but also filled it with happiness. I adored the road trip setting, the romance was perfect, and the friendship was even better!

6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Another that completely, utterly changed my life. I felt like the book was speaking directly to me!

7. Allegiant by Veronica Roth. Okay, I know I put it off for like five months after I bought it. And I know I wailed for days about my feels and creys. But I’m so glad I pushed through it, because Allegiant was one of the best series enders I’ve read, right up there with Ignite Me.

8. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas. The entire series is my favorite, but TAB really sold me on the whole thing, and novellas actually. I never thought I’d be so hooked on novellas before this book! And to have them all in print, in my hand – it was beautiful.

9. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. Matt. Finch. That is all. Plus, road trips.

10. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. Still a bit miffed that the title was changed from Severed Heads, Broken Hearts, but whatever. I still love this book with all my heart ❤

11. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. Two Matson books on this list! That should tell you something about how awesome this lady’s writing is. Really, there’s no way for me to express how much I love this book.

12. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I feel like this whole post is just me gushing way too much but ALL THE FEELS from this book! It’s so lighthearted and it makes me so happy ^_^

13. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. This is proof that you should always listen to book pushers: I almost didn’t read it, but I’m BEYOND glad that I did! Another that made my heart so happy ❤

So, I only did 13. Not too horrible! I can restrain myself after all. Also, a fun note: you can tell how my reading mood has changed over the last five months. Darker, more sci-fi and fantasy books, gradually moving towards light and summery contemporaries.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

  1. I’ll skip over Allegiant before I start on my Allegiant rant again! lol But I love Scarlet (overall I prefered Cinder as a book but loved Scarlet the most as a character – weird!) and I’m a HUUUUGE Fangirl fan! That one is definitely on my Top 10 as well!

  2. Avalon looks really good and pretty interesting. I’m torn about purchasing it in hardback or waiting for the paperback. 😛 I’ll definitely check out Me Since You. Scarlet! <33 Love Scarlet and Wolf. 🙂 NOOO WARNER. D: LOL. Amy & Roger's is super cute. Still remains one of my favorite contemporaries. 🙂 Fangirl was so relatable. Allegiant… Er.. not sure if I want to read that one… I'll probably read The Assassin's Blade AFTER the whole trilogy because it might make me want Sam to come back. 😛 I've been seeing you talk about Open Road Summer a lot and I totally want to get it. Dyan enjoyed The Beginning of Everything. 🙂 Since You've Been Gone is right up there at the top of my wishlist. To All the Boys was cute, but I didn't love it. I have to read Huntley's books! X.X Man this comment got long.

    • Mmmmm well you know my answer – I always go for the hardback when it’s that good a book!

      NO WARNER?? Again, Aimee – recheck our friendship right now. Seriously O_O

      Oh my god. Sam. </3

      All of the others – READ THEM!!! And don't worry about long comments 😉

  3. OMG YOU LIKED ALLEGIANT?!! *parties quietly* I can’t find hardly anyone who even will look at that book, but I loved it so so so much. I bawled. I complained. But I loved it. And I’m 100% with you on Scarlet and Ignite Me. Oh gosh, they’re RIGHT UP THERE on my mental list (I was slack and didn’t link up this week, hehe). Scarlet is still my secret favourite of the Lunar Chronicles. I mean, I gave them all 5-stars, but I love Scarlet the best.

  4. You know what I love about this list…there are 8 contemporaries on it from a former non-contemporary reader! I can officially say my work here is done. 🙂

  5. Woo! To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! *pom poms* I need to check out some of the other ones on this list 🙂

  6. That’s fantastic that you’ve had such a great start to a year! Going 3 over is a good sign 🙂 My TTT, on the other hand, went 3 under – not for a lack of good books, but just because my semester’s been so busy and I’ve barely had any reading time. 😦

    So I seriously haven’t read any of these books, but a good bunch are on my TBR and I have Allegiant on hold at the library (it seems I’ve had it on hold for months – I think I’m somewhere around #10 in line now…). I’m really looking forward to it!

    • I was actually concerned that I would be under, but then I looked at my GR feed and saw all the amazing books I had read this year 🙂

      Aww, but school is almost over! And then a full summer for reading 😀

      I hope you get Allegiant soon; it’s really a fantastic conclusion!

  7. 13 books… I see what you did there 😉

    Heard so much about the books on your list but I’ve never actually read them– especially excited to read Since You’ve Been Gone, everyone is raving about it!! =)

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

  8. Oh Fangirl ❤ I absolutely adored that book, despite not thinking I would at all. Cath really grabbed me, I loved her! I need to read Open Road Summer like NOW. Jeez… so many amazing things have been said, and I adore the cover. It's so sweet and romantic and GORGEOUS 🙂

  9. I love Scarlet & Wolf’s relationship too. But Cress is my favorite book. I just loved the character of Cress so much. I cannot wait for Winter!

    OOOOO and I love Fangirl like crazy!

    • Mafi, in particular, I’ve found is hit and miss for everyone. It’s really hard to say, “you’ll love this book,” just because her writing style is SO different.

      Oh yeah, ARCs tend to get in the way :/

  10. I haven’t read that many books this year yet, so I wouldn’t be able to compile this list even if I wanted to. D: You have some pretty sweet 2014 favs, though!

    1. Even though I only gave it 3.5 stars, I really enjoyed Avalon. The beginning was just kind of slow, and nothing much went down until like 30% in (if I recall correctly), but the ideas in here were fantastic and I loved how creepy the Belgrave was. I wasn’t really a fan of the romance, though, for some reason…

    2. Wow, anything life-changing is a must-read, imo. This book never really caught my attention before, but I’m definitely going to check it out now!

    3. Ahhh, I loved Cinder so much but I haven’t had the time (or money lol) to buy Scarlet. 😦 I know plenty of people who loved the sequel though, and I’m really excited to get back into the world of New Beijing, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon. Awesome romance is always a plus. 😀

    7. I’m still putting off time reading this book, haha. Just haven’t been seeing too many great reviews around because people were apparently expecting something else from the book, and I don’t want another series to be ruined just because of the final book! But whew, it’s such a relief that you liked it. I’m looking forward to getting my heart broken and stomped on. And I need more Four. FOURRRRR. (He’ll always be Four to me!)

    10. YAAAASSS. YOU LIKED THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING! Honestly, that book was so good I can’t even. I love how realistic the author kept everything, though the ending just broke my heart and all these feels. EZRA. CASSIDY. WHY. And yeah! I’m NOT happy they changed the title. The original was perfect.

    13. I actually considered getting this book when I went on my book-buying spree, but decided to go with Everbound instead. Still, I really hope to read this someday and get some good ol romance. ❤

    • 1. Yeah, the romance was iffy for me too. But I loved the family aspect of the crew, and that overshadowed the cheese balls coming from the couple 😛

      2. YES! Read it! Do it! Love it!

      3. Ah, yes. Always the money thing 😦 Whenever you can though, I highly recommend it!

      7. Honestly, it’s to each their own for this one. It all depends on what sort of mindset you take and the ending you want – perfect ending, or realistic ending.

      10. OF COURSE I LIKED THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING IT WAS FLAWLESS AND BEAUTIFUL AND BROKE MY HEART WHILE MAKING ME LAUGH

      13. Well then the next spree – totally go for it 😀

  11. Pingback: Weekly Recap 31 (June 15) | The Thousand Lives

  12. Nawh! I love your list, Kayla! Me Since You definitely deserves it’s place!
    But other than that, I haven’t read any of these books. Except for Fangirl which I didn’t enjoy all that much. :/

    • Awww I know 😦 But that’s all right; it’s your opinion! I just loved Fangirl because I could identify with Cath easily. But for the other books – you need to read them! They’re all so good.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

