Saturated Reads: What I Thought Was True

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia. Apparently there’s a million different kinds of synesthesia you can have, and I tested out for two or three, one of them being attaching colors to emotions and whatnot. Soo… upon the urging of Kelley from all those months ago, I’ve decided to actually do something with it and present books as I see them – with color!

Thus, Saturated Reads was born, because I’m also a photoshop geek and the name stuck. In essence, I will pick one book every Wednesday, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book. For example, when I reviewed To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, I said, “It made me feel pink.” I actually meant baby pink, something really soft, what I meant by that was that it made me feel light-hearted and whimsical – two emotions I associate with the baby pink color. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

And without further adieu… the first Saturated Reads book: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick!

What colors do I associate with the book?

What I Thought Was True

There’s a few other colors, but these are the primary three that come to mind when I think of WITWT. Some greens or yellows will pop up if I really focus on it, but most of the hues stay in the blue area. The navy because to me the story is dark and roiling and I always picture the night sky, especially when I think about the characters and their conversations. The concrete gray because it’s harsh and unrelenting, and there are a lot of tough situations in the book that the characters have to deal with. But then the light, clear-sky blue – the hope at the end and the lightheartedness that does peer through in some parts.

Does the cover match my colors?

Eh, not really! I think this is why I was so taken aback by the book *cover snob over here*. So I got all of my colors floating round my noggin, and then there’s this soft, peaceful, lovey-dovey cover staring at me the whole time. Talk about a sensory overload!

Now this… *many thanks to the tint tool on pic monkey* This is more like what I’m thinking:

Recolored WITWTSo. Much. Better. Excuse me while I go print out a copy of this and tape it over my hardback.

Now to you: what do you think of my colors versus the cover? Do you ever “see” colors when you read?

24 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: What I Thought Was True

  1. Hmm, I haven’t read the book, but it is fascinating how much the blue version of the cover makes it look like a much darker book! The purple-y version feels so much warmer and happier, but the blue version is all cold and a little foreboding, even. I really should read this book and see what I think now. I don’t see colours when I read, but it’s really interesting that you do, and I can’t wait for more of this feature! (:

    • I’m glad yo feel the same way about the two covers! I still love the purple one, but it just doesn’t fit as well as the blue I think. But it’s all personal opinion 😉

  2. Ahhh I love this new feature, Kayla! 😀 I’ve never “seen” colors when I read, but now that you mentioned it, I guess I could do just that! I’ll be thinking of you and this post the next time I read something. 🙂 Also, I haven’t read any of Huntley’s books yet. 😦 I know, I know. I should. My Life Next Door had a boring (I think) first chapter so I haven’t continued it yet. Thanks so much for sharing–I’ll be stalking this feature for sure. 😀

    • Thank you! Ohhh man you should read them! Both are great, but My Life Next Door is just a wee bit better than What I Thought Was True. It’s mostly due to the love interest, I’ll admit 😉

  3. Wow, this is a great, interesting feature! I don’t get colors from books I don’t think – although I do find book covers in my favorite colors appeal to me more – that’s totally not what you are talking about here though! 🙂 This post makes me think you should work at helping design book covers since even if I don’t think I think in colors, there must be a subconscious association people have with colors and objects, so maybe you can tap into that to make a book more accurately marketable.

    • Thanks! I tend to go for covers that have my favorite colors as well, just because they make me feel more comfortable I guess.

      I actually had a friend suggest that I get into design, but I wouldn’t even know where to start! I’m not that great with photoshop anyway; but if they have a job where I just pick the color palette, I’m all in!

  4. Kayla, I fricking LOVE this post! I’m so excited that you decided to start a whole new weekly feature on your blog exploring this! I find synesthesia so fascinating, and though I can somewhat relate because I have other forms of synesthesia, I don’t have this particular variety. You described it very clearly, though, and I thank you for that!

    It would drive me crazy too if the colors on the cover didn’t match *my* colors for the book. I think your re-design looks great in any case. I feel like I do experience this to some degree, but it’s not strong enough to pinpoint, like it is for you.

    I’m curious how your experience compares to mine, when it comes to colors. I find it’s really difficult to find the exact right shade of blue or whatever to illustrate my synesthesia (perhaps they’re much more “alive” in my mind? perhaps the level of depth in which I can experience color in-brain is more advanced than what my eyes can see?). Did you have trouble picking the exact right shades of navy, grey, and sky blue?

    • I’m so glad to hear that! I’m just happy you pointed it out and said “hey, this is what may be going on.” I just thought it was something that happened! What kind of synesthesia do you have? I know there are so many different kinds!

      Actually, for this one I didn’t have trouble at all. I just moved my mouse around the color widget, and when it hit the color I just KNEW that was the one. But other times I do have some troubles, like it’s just *this* much too yellow or not quite turquoise enough. I guess I may find one of those cases as I do this feature each week 🙂

      • Wow, that’s so cool that you were able to pinpoint your colors so exactly! I wish it was that easy for me! I feel like I *always* have to settle for something that’s “close enough” lol.

        So the kinds I have are grapheme-color (I see letters and numbers in colors), and spatial-sequence (I see time in a spatial structure in my mind that sort of radiates 3-dimensionally from my body). A few other minor forms, like sound-color, but I seem to have to focus on that one more for it to be noticeable most of the time. I wrote a few posts about it on my other blog, if you want all the details, lol.

  5. I love this feature!!! It’s such a different way to look at books and I love the comparisons of your colors with the cover. I haven’t read this book so I can’t comment on that at all but based on your description of the story your tinted over works much better 🙂 And I seriously love this feature.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap 31 (June 15) | The Thousand Lives

  7. Synesthesia has always been so interesting to me, although I don’t have it. It just shows how complex and amazing our brains really are. So, this feature is down-right awesome! And, I like your blue version cover better. 🙂

  8. I think Kelley has synthesia, too! (If I remember correctly she mentioned something like that when she was still blogging on Another Novel Read.) And I’ve always thought it so cool that people out there can associate certain words/emotions/characters to different colors. It must be beautiful seeing the world like that, so this is an awesome feature!

    But omggg, this story is “dark and roiling” and “harsh and unrelenting”?! NEED THIS RIGHT NOW. I always tend to enjoy contemporaries with a darker side than those fluffy ones, and I think the colors you pick out were pretty accurate! I call all colors on the blue side “cold colors,” so it kinda makes sense. Sorta? Haha. I love how you managed to change the cover’s colors altogether. I actually think both covers look pretty good!

    Hmm… a book to suggest. HOW ABOUT SHADOW & BONE?! You just finished re-reading that one, right? YES. This is a brilliant idea, if I do say so myself. 😉 (My obsession with this series is starting to show. #sorrynotsorry)

    • Yes she does! It’s a different kind, but yes 😀

      READ IT MEG. It’s so good! Her first book is amazing as well.

      Ohhhh I could totally do that 😀 The whole series even, maybe?? (Don’t be sorry 😉 I’m totally obsessed as well)

  9. Ooh I love this! And holy crap your cover is SO MUCH BETTER than the original! I think synesthesia is so interesting. I don’t have it, but I’ve known people who do and it’s very cool. I love your idea to combine it with books and look at how the covers match up. I can’t wait for more posts like this! 🙂

    • *bows* Why thank you 😉 I’m glad you liked the idea! I was a bit worried, since my other feature attempts failed epically, but I think I finally figured out what works best for me!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

