Saturated Reads: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia, and I have a type that connects emotions with colors. I will pick one book every Wednesday, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

The Saturated Reads book for this week is… To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

What colors do I associate with the book?

To All the Boys

The first two colors actually are intertwined; I see them both at the same time, kind of like a quilt all woven together and wrapped around me. The pink is like bubble gum, all sweet and full of happiness. And then the cream/ivory because it’s warm, a bit summery, and very bright. The burnt orange was actually the last color I saw; it didn’t really pop up until I sat back and closed my eyes. But I think it represents the plot very well; it’s still vibrant, like the story, but it’s a bit more in your face and indicative of some problems that Lara Jean encounters.

Does the cover match my colors?

Actually, this cover is perfect! I wouldn’t even really add an orange tint to it, because the pink and cream are the primary colors. They encompass everything about the entire story. Honestly, it’s flawless. I just love it ❤

14 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

  1. For some reason I really expected to see a blue feature here. I totally get the first two colors but that burnt orange was a surprise! I agree though about this cover–it’s one of my favorites and I love how the design works so well with the plot and the book design. (And I saw the cover model at Jenny’s launch party which was fun.)

    It took a month but I finally finished my re-read of this one from my finished copy. *heart*

    • I almost thought so too; I briefly entertained a dusky baby blue, but the orange just screamed at me. And that’s so cool you got to meet the model! Was it better the second time around? Or just as good?

      • It still gave me a lot of warm fuzzies. I re-read mainly because I was told there were differences between the text in the arc and the finished copy but really the only obvious (to me) change was in the last chapter.

  2. I love how emotional you are with your reading and connecting to books. It makes me so happy! And I love imagining how those colors might feel.

    And it think that it’s SO COOL that the exact colors your were thinking about were the colors used in the cover design! I feel like that must not happen too often. Awesome 🙂

  3. Oh wow, they got it right! It would be interesting for you to do a percentage once you’ve done a few of these posts to see how often the covers match the colors you get from the story! I do like the cover for this book, so I’m glad it suits!

    • That’s a great idea! I’ll have to keep track somewhere; make a spreadsheet or something. Except I don’t know how to do the equations in the cells so maybe just good old mental math 😉

  4. That’s really cool! I don’t really see in “colours” as such…not like that anyway, but it’s seriously cool! My sister talks about how subjects remind her of different colours…or music. She tells me what colours she thinks a song is. Which is awesome but I don’t get it. 😉 I like the colours you’ve picked out for this book! I haven’t read it, but from your descriptions and the reviews I’ve read? Yep. Yep it sure looks good.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    • I mostly see music in whites or blues, but not nearly as vibrantly as I do for books. That’s awesome that Mime associates colors to certain songs!

      Ohhh you really need to read it Cait 😀 I highly recommend this book!

  5. I have to say that the burnt orange is my favorite color here! I haven’t read TAtBILB either so I can’t say if I agree with your color choices or not. Your explanations sound legit, though. 😉 I actually expected this story to have a deeper side, not all fluff and sunshine, but oh well, with these pretty colors, I guess I won’t mind!

    And YES, I love this cover so much. The creators should feel proud that they’ve got Kayla Sanchez’s approval! 😀

    • I didn’t expect it at all, so the deeper stuff shocked me a bit! But it was still light-hearted in the end, thus the pink and orange 😀

      I should make a stamp of approval 😉

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap 32 (June 22) – The New Bookcase Edition | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

