Weekly Recap 32 (June 22) – The New Bookcase Edition

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! I was much busier this week, what with my car issues and my coworker getting sick so I had to pick up an extra shift. But I had the day off yesterday so I was able to relax and catch up a bit on some rest and errands. Who knew that I would look forward to having time to go grocery shopping?

Stacking the Shelves

Screen Shot 2014-06-21 at 12.10.07 PMTwo weeks ago I won a giveaway through Lisa @ Read. Breathe. Relax. and Simon & Schuster, and the package arrived this Tuesday! It was much quicker than I thought, and did a little jig when I picked it up and brought it inside. I was so excited to get my hands on City of Heavenly Fire – now I may actually finish the series! My sister was more than happy to receive the other books, so now she has her own set sans CoHF. And of course the jacket is mine, and it fits perfectly! Plus, it’s SO SOFT. I wish it wasn’t summer here so I could wear it all the time.

I also bought a new bookcase! Target had it for $18 (thank you Veronica for letting me know!), and it’s in a perfect expresso color that matches the rest of my furniture. I’ve been overflowing my bookshelves lately, and it was time for some expansion. Thus, two hours later, with many screams of irritation and misplaced screws (but no smashed thumbs – yay!), I built this:

photo 1It actually turned into a “my favorite books/series” case. Shelf one is contemporary, shelf two is fantasy (ish), and shelf three is sci-fi (ish). I threw some paranormal in there as well. The top of the case is for the Pushing the Limits series, since it didn’t fit into the first shelf, and then the right spot will be for my current read (in this case, Dreams of Gods and Monsters).

photo 2The case was the perfect height to go under my bird picture. Hopefully you can see all the titles! (I left a little slot for Isla and the Happily Ever After when it’s released in two months 😉 )

photo 3Aren’t they beautiful? I was so proud 😀 It took me a while to figure out which books should go on the shelves, but finally I accomplished that daunting task. There’s a bit of room next to Days of Blood and Starlight where book three will go when I’m finished crying over it.

The sucky part of this is that shelf three will need rearranging in a few short months when series are continued or completed (Winter, This Shattered World, Blue Lily Lily Blue, Echoes of Us, The Treatment, Unraveled). BUT I refuse to worry about that now. And anyway, I have two full shelves on my other case that are now empty. Hooray for cheap and easy bookish projects!

In other news…

  • My car was finally repaired, after being in the shop for five days. I felt like I was sixteen again, trying to shuffle the one car around. Except sixteen year old me didn’t work, and eighteen year old me does. So that was so much fun… *sarcasm* They first told me the repairs would cost $1800 (I had a wee meltdown during my lunch break), due to a water pump, timing belt, radiator fan, and labor. But then we took it to another shop and they said that it was only the radiator fan and low on coolant, so that ended up costing about $700. The timing belt will need to be replaced eventually, but that’s not for another 10K miles at least. I’m just glad everything worked out and I didn’t have to spend the extra $1100 O_O
  • In happier news, I was able to make it to the Fierce Reads tour in San Diego! I’ve got a huge recap post scheduled, so I won’t say much here, but it was BEYOND fun, and it was so nice seeing Leigh again and tell her how much I loved Ruin and Rising.
  • In just seven days, I’ll be nineteen. Yeah, next Sunday. I alternate between being quite startled and completely forgetting about it. NINETEEN. How did that happen?? It seems like just yesterday I turned eighteen. Hopefully this next year will keep improving for me.

In case you missed it, last week I…

What’s coming up this week? (Hint: it’s a Laini Taylor week)

  • Monday – Review of Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Cover Trends I Like
  • Wednesday – Saturated Reads: Days of Blood and Starlight
  • Thursday – Fierce Reads Recap!
  • Friday – Review of Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor.

Hope you all have a good week!

16 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 32 (June 22) – The New Bookcase Edition

  1. Laini Taylor week! Yay! I look forward to your Saturated reads post, it’s such a cool feature 😀 beatiful bookshelves too! I really need another one for the books just piled on my floor atm…

  2. Those prizes are awesome and your new bookcase is gorgeous! I definitely need a new one as well. Mine is overstuffed! And I think I would have a hard time figuring out how to arrange too. Haha.

    And it’s really great you saved $1100. Some people can get so opportunistic. :/ I’ll greet you next Sunday, but I hope you have a good one. 😀

    • I think that was the most stressful part, to be honest. Putting it all together was fine, but I was running like crazy while trying to figure out which books I wanted on which shelf.

      And thank you!

  3. Good for you! The directions on those shelves may claim to be easy but I protest. I like the deep ones like that since I can hide lesser loved books in behind and have more out front room for books I did love:)

    • Exactly! There were three steps, but I just thought, “ah, no.” This one isn’t too deep, but I guess I could put some in front if I wanted to. But I don’t have that many books yet, so I get to display them all still 😀

  4. Such a gorgeous new bookshelf and you put your books so nicely. My bookshelves are definitely not that neat >.> And I need to buy another new one I think, haha.

  5. Haha, I’ve got the complete set of The Mortal Instruments series, too (or mostly a complete set, I can’t remember which books I have xP) but I haven’t read any of them yet. Just goes to show how much of a procrastinator I am! And aw, that jacket looks super sunggly and I love all the grays! Yeah, the weather is sizzling over here as well, and worse still, it’s humid! I may have ranted to you about this but I can’t remember (as usual). What has become of my memory I don’t even know.

    I wish we had such cheap bookcases in shops here! A shelf that size would probably cost around $30 – $50. My current shelf, which is probably three/four shelves taller than your new one was around $240. 😦 Ugh, stupid pricey things. Love how you arranged all your books, though! I don’t care much about organization — just as long as books in a series are together, I’m all good! And OMG, so many beautiful hardbacks. ❤

    So glad your car's fixed now! And thank God you managed to find another repair shop — I choked at the price you had to pay originally. O_O And yay, I'm so excited for your Fierce Reads event post, though super jealous you got to meet Leigh! She seems like such a cool person to talk to. I hope there're PICTURES!!!

    Set your b'day into my phone so I won't forget to wish you ❤

    • Ah don’t worry – I haven’t gotten past book three! Someday I’ll get there 😛 You’ve ranted before, but rant away some more! Humidity is 100% rant worthy!

      Oh man that’s expensive 😦 I think this one was so cheap because the back isn’t solid wood – it’s a piece of painted cardboard that I had to nail down to the wood. My taller bookshelf was pretty expensive though – probably the same price as yours.

      I choked at it too! And then I started crying. I think I was in shock actually O_O And Leigh is so hilarious! Every time I’ve met her she just makes me laugh so much.

      Awww you’re so sweet ❤

  6. YAY new bookshelves! I really want to get another one, too. Although I already have five, so not sure if that would be overkill 😛 But they’re overflowing everywhere!!! The next house we buy is definitely going to have to have a designated “library” room, I think.

    Can’t wait to hear about Fierce Reads!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

