Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Title: Days of Blood and Starlight (#2)
Author: Laini Taylor
Genre: YA, paranormal, amazeballs
Publisher/Publication Date: Little, Brown Books / November 6, 2012
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Paperback

Synopsis from Goodreads: Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is–and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

Amazon | Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

HOLY. CRAP. HOLY CRAP. I can’t handle this. I’ve been tweeting Nara and Kristy and Rose for the last half hour but I can’t get rid of these feels. So be prepared for the most flailing, fangirly review I’ve written in a long time.

First of all: Laini Taylor is a goddess. She must have made a deal with Crowley or something because her writing is just… perfect. You know how I complain about how I want more color and vibrance in the books I read? SHE HAS IT. ALL OF IT. Every simile and description is like biting into the juiciest fruit ever – this book made me feel ALL THE COLORS. Seriously – I felt the rainbow. I tasted the rainbow. I wish I could pick out just one passage but I can’t even pick one but OH WAIT I FOUND IT THANK GOD here is my favorite line from the book:

How different they were from each other, Hazael with his fair hair and laughter, Akiva saturnine and silent. Sunshine and shadow. And what am I? She didn’t know. Stone? Steel? Black hands and muscles too tense for laughter? (368)

I just love how she describes everything. I really can’t say anything more without keyboard smashing. But THIS is how I see things – how I picture characters, and it was like walking into my own head and just wrapping myself in all of the words I’d use for the characters.

Okay, and Ziri needs his own paragraph. I’m sorry, but here’s another case of the-secondary-character-is-my-favorite syndrome. I expected from all the talk I’d heard from Nara and others (and just my preconceptions by his name) that he would be some dark, sexy, arrogant asshole that I’d still fall in love with, but he was SO MUCH BETTER than that! He’s like my new Peeta Mellark – all joy and sunshine and dandelions. He’s innocent and pure and heartfelt, selflessly passionate and yet so naive and wide-eyed. But at the same time he’s seen war and murder and done it all himself, but there’s this little spark of hope that refuses to be shut down no matter what happens. Oh, and he’s still sexy (does falling in love with his Kirin form count as bestiality? These are the things that keep me up at night), so there’s that.

Okay, okay. Focus Kayla. I can do this. One coherent paragraph. I’m going to fail. I was iffy after finishing Daughter of Smoke and Bone, to be honest. The romance was too flaily for me. Too insta-lovey, despite the explanation (which was pretty awesome, I’ll admit). So that’s probably why it took me so long to get to DoBaS after finishing book one. But I am now kicking myself for waiting so long, because THIS BOOK. Oh my god this book. I was screaming. I was crying. I was gasping. I’m pretty sure at one point I pointed at the page and the offending sentence that BLEW MY MIND and said, “NO. THAT IS NOT ALLOWED. HOLY ****. ERROR. STOP. STAHP. FEELS.” Which was then followed by furiously reading the next hundred pages. I mean REALLY it is just not fair to have that many plot twists and OMG worthy moments. It really isn’t good for my heart.

So now that I’m having palpitations and have been so deviously coerced into immediately starting Dreams of Gods and Monsters, I now turn to you and say, please read this book. Please do not be stupid like me and deny yourself the incredible awesomeness that is Ziri this series. I highly recommend it, even if you were unsure after Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Days of Blood and Starlight is ten times better, and I’m pretty sure Taylor just became an auto-buy author for me.

My Final Rating:

Six stars

11 thoughts on “Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

  1. 😀
    I agree with everything you said! And I am proud of you being able to write a review straight after all the feels of this book!! I hope you enjoy Dreams just as much 🙂 (I’ll be available to talk after you finish, if you need to)

    • I couldn’t NOT write the review! I needed to sleep, and I had to write out everything or I’d end up dreaming about the book 😛

      Oh yeah, I’m going to need it for Dreams. I’m about 50 pages in right now, and wowowww I can tell it’s going to be a crazy ride.

      • AFKDLAJF;SDJFDKL;SFJKDS is an accurate response. The ONLY response, really.

        And I think we’ll be fighting over book boyfriends someday – those are my qualifications as well 😉

  2. I’M SEEING SO MUCH FLAILING GAH. A new Peeta Mellark!? *GRABBY HANDS* I still haven’t finished book 1. 😦 I tried it years ago but for some reason never managed to finish it…

    • Book 1 was iffy for me, I think I gave it 4 stars, because the romance was a bit annoying, but OMG DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT WAS TEN TIMES BETTER. Really, push through Daughter of Smoke and Bone to get to the really good stuff.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

