Top Ten Cover Elements I Like/Dislike

TTT Banner
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Check out their blog here!

Today’s TTT topic is: Ten Book Cover Trends (or just elements of covers) I Like/Dislike. I think I’ll do five that I like, and five that I dislike. Because who doesn’t like symmetry?

Elements I Dislike

1. Too bright, blocky, cartoony things. I honestly can’t even describe why I’m put off by them, but I am, and this is the best example I can come up with:

2. Weirdly photoshopped people on funky backgrounds. Also – the too big/bright font. 

3. Rip-offs of other covers. Find some originality please? I know the Divergent series’ covers are stunning, but no need to duplicate to be good! (But I do love the colors, so I’m not as rankled as I could be)

4. Font colors that blend in too much with the background. I don’t like straining my eyes to try and figure out what I’m reading.

5. Beautiful covers that trick me into reading their awful insides. Now that’s just plain RUDE.

Elements I Like (Now this, I can do)

6. Eyes. I know a lot of people don’t, but I love peepers on my covers. Especially when they’re all decorated and photoshopped like the Shatter Me series. Honestly, I could stare at them all day.

7. Filters! It’s the inner hipster. But hey, I just love them.

8. Bright colors. This extends generally to the contemporary genre, for whatever reason. And most of the time it’s yellow that I’m drawn to.

9. Blatantly fantasy/sci-fi genred. Because nothing screams read me more than a half summer half winter symbol or a water dragon, or some space thing that I still don’t know what it’s supposed to represent but it’s SCIFI.

10. GALAXY. Just give me the TARDIS and drop me somewhere in a nebula and I’m a happy camper.

That’s my list for this week – link me yours below!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Cover Elements I Like/Dislike

  1. oh my gosh, #5 in the dislike section – yes! I have been lured into one too many a bad book by a pretty cover or great title.

    I’m actually not a huge fan of illustrated covers in general. I know I shouldn’t admit that but I like photographs and even more so, I like people. Because I just love pretty pictures and when you get a pretty picture and a pretty book – that’s just awesome.

    I’m a big fan of 9 in the like section. And Snow Like Ashes and The Perilous Sea are great examples. They’re so interesting and unexpected and pretty.

    I do like stars on cover but except for Plus One, I totally expected that to be a pretty dresses element. I know there’s a ton of derision for girls in pretty dresses on covers – but the two you picked are pretty fantastic in my book 🙂

    • It’s really a tragedy when an awful book is graced with a stunning cover.

      Whatever you prefer is up to you! No shame in liking people covers 😉 I’m split on both, but like with Vampire Academy, the people creep me out.

      #9 was my favorite to put together, I’ll admit. It made me very very happy ^_^

      I think it depends on how the pretty dress thing is done – sometimes it’s just weird. But if there’s a girl floating in space, why not throw a dress in there? lf it’s already illogical, go full throttle!

  2. 1. I actually kind of like those blocky, cartoonish covers! 😛 I can see why some might be put off by them, though — they’re definitely not my favorite kind of covers but I still like them all the same.

    2. UGH, agreed. I don’t mind the large titles so much, but badly Photoshopped covers are the worst.

    3. Rip-offs are horrible. In my opinion it’s kind of like blurb baiting; the publisher probably thought that creating a cover that looked like Divergent would make Divergent fans interested. They just don’t realize how ridiculous that looks.

    6. LOVE eye covers as well. The new Shatter Me covers are just gorgeous, and what’s better is that they actually fit the story. Another cover with an eye is The Diviners by Libba Bray. The eye isn’t as big as the ones here, but it’s still there!

    7. I always envy photographers who’re able to take pictures and then filter them to that soft, dreamy kind of look — like The Museum of Intangible Things. LOVE that filter so so so much. Too bad many of these contemporary covers are being replaced by those kissy face ones…

    9. Haha, I don’t know what that mess of metal above Jeth’s head is supposed to be either, but it still looks awesome. And have you seen the cover for Polaris? AMAZING. Not a fan of the white outline for the title though. :/

    10. GALAXY COVERS. Pfft, do I even need a reason to love these?!

    • 7. Why kissy faces when we can have FILTERS? Where is the logic here??

      9. I’m just as lost as you are, but it’s still cool looking 😀 I like Polaris’s cover, since it’s such a contrast from Avalon.

      10. GALAXY COVERS FOREVER

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

