Weekly Recap 33 (June 29) – The Birthday Edition

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! This week was absolutely crazy, and I was a bit burnt out Friday night. But I spent some time blogging in my bed and turned on my new wax melty thing; it smells like lilac and jasmine, and I’m pretty sure there’s some lavender in there too. It’s very soothing, and almost put me to sleep. All better now!

Stacking the Shelves

Nothing this week! I’ve been really good on my book ban (for one whole week – I think that’s a record), but I did put in a preorder for two books. GASP – KAYLA, PREORDERING? I know, I know. But it was the Four short stories and Midnight Thief, and they were so cheap online that together they cost $25. So yeah, I preordered. I caved. Oh the sham of a life I’ve been living! And now I’m totally thinking of preordering more often because I have the BN membership so free shipping is a win. I’ll just have to keep track of my money, but that’s good habit anyway.

Oh, wait, I did get one NetGalley book – Sway by Kat Spears. SO EXCITED! Especially since that new cover has been revealed – it’s 10 times better than the one before.

In other news…

  • Parajunkee put out this AMAZING blogging scheduler! It’s for July – December of this year, and it’s absolutely adorable and enormously functional. Check out the link here – it may still be free! I printed mine out through Staples and had it bound – it cost about $6, and they put clear covers on both ends to make it sort of a journal. Color printing was more expensive, but I think if I use it a lot I may print the next one out in color if I use it that much.

photo-3Hopefully this will keep me highly organized and a totally efficient blogger. Maybe πŸ˜›

  • In other news… it is officially my birthday today!!! The big 1-9. Whoop whoop! Honestly I kept forgetting about it until my mom demanded to know what I wanted to do. We’re going to my second parent’s (aren’t I cool? I have two sets of parentals) house and barbecuing over there. Very laid back – exactly how I like it. I may even get some reading done! Also: keep an eye out for some giveaways in the next month! It’s not just my birthday – The Thousand Lives turns one as well!

In case you missed it, last week I…

What’sΒ comingΒ up this week?

  • Monday – Review: My Best Friend Death by Michael Anthony (get ready for a rant)
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Classic Books
  • Wednesday – Saturated Reads: The Museum of Intangible Things
  • Thursday – Top Ten Autobuy Authors that I Own the Most Books from (Veronica tagged me!)
  • Friday – Review: The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

Hope you all have a good week!

27 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 33 (June 29) – The Birthday Edition

  1. OMG That cover for Sway makes me drool! I dont think preorders count towards breaking a ban.
    That schedule looks so cool! I have to check it out!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! (again)

    I need to know what the way melty thing is…it sounds really cool. And anything that will help make me sleepy is something that I need to have haha.

    I LOVE that cover of Sway. The way that the sunlight goes through the title is really cool.

    And happy almost blogiversary πŸ˜€ That’s so exciting! Mine’s in September.

    • THANK YOU!

      They’re called Scentsy, if you get the brand name stuff, but I got mine at Kohl’s. It’s just a lamp thing with a bowl above the bulb that you turn on and it warms the scented wax so it gets all smelly and yummy πŸ™‚

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! It’s your last teen-aged year! (Actually, turning twenty is really anticlimactic. You can’t do anything new!) πŸ™‚ I hope it’s been awesome!!

    I got the organizer too! I just printed it out at home (color, boo ya!) and it’s got weird lines, but whatever. I like your pretty copy better! It looks seriously useful, though. Hopefully we’ll be more organized now! I know I need the help. πŸ™‚

    • WOOHOO!!! But don’t remind me – I feel old enough already. Kids I baby-sat are now sophomores in high school O_O

      If I could have it colored and bound like I do, then it’d be perfect πŸ˜€ It’s really helping me already – definitely worth it.

  4. Yay, happy birthday love! It’s my first time in your blog today and you seem like a very beautiful person inside and out πŸ™‚ I hope you have fun with the book you requested from Netgalley. I’ll be stalking you now (beware!)

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

  5. I’m tempted to think that pre-ordering is still breaking a book-ban but in my opinion book bans are eviller so I shan’t say anything. πŸ˜› And I really need to get to all these Four short stories. He’s one of my favorite love interests in YA fiction, so I want to read more about him! FOURRRRR. ❀

    Wow, a blogging schedule is such a great idea! The only problem is that I don't follow schedules (even those I've drawn up for myself) and I'd probably end up losing it under my piles of school books. Organizing and me just don't get well together, sigh. I saw how the schedule looked like in color and it's gorgeous though!

    Happy birthday again! πŸ˜€ Heh, I don't like elaborate birthday parties either… or birthday parties in general. In fact, I don't tell anyone it's my birthday because I just hate the attention. Plus, the awkwardest part is when everyone's singing happy birthday to you and you're just standing there in front of the cake. I never know what to do. T_T But I'm glad you had a great birthday this year — looking forward to your blogoversary as well!

    • Shhhh no it’s not πŸ˜‰ Oh man and I’m going to have all these Allegiant feels again </3

      It's SO helpful! I used to be adamant that I could do it all in my head, but I just can't. This helps me think long-term as well πŸ™‚

      Thank you! Yeah it was just super quiet with my family – and even then the singing over my cupcake was awkward.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

