Weekly Recap 34 (July 6) – The Birthday Book Haul

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again!ย I was working a lot this week before the 4th of July, but I have a three day weekend so that’s nice. Last Sunday (my birthday) was really laid back and fun – my best guy friend ended up convincing me to go get fireworks with him, and then I made him take me to two different Barnes and Nobles so I could spend some of my birthday money. Then on the 4th we ended up shooting off about $200 worth of sparklers and fountains – and annoying the neighbors. Their next door neighbor is crazy sauce, and he lit three strings of firecrackers and chucked them over the fence at us. One fell right at my feet and snapped on my ankles before I could run away. All good fun ๐Ÿ˜›

Stacking the Shelves

To put it simply: the book ban is broken. And I think I did aย spectacularย job of breaking it! I was so blessed by my family and friends with gift cards and whatnot, and I had a blast picking up all these pretties:

photo 2Excuse me while I drool over them all again *heart eyes* Allow me to list them all and provide links so you can get these pretties too:

  • Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour
  • Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan (because Lisa was fangirling so hard!)
  • Uninvited by Sophie Jordan
  • Graduation Day by Joelle Charbonneau
  • Free to Fall by Lauren Miller (Aimee and I will be tandem reading it next weekend!)
  • Elusion by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam
  • The Treatment by Suzanne Young (I was going back and forth, but Andi said it was good, and I trust her)
  • Scan by Sarah Fine (Cait calls it a “guy flick” in her review – aliens and explosions – perfect for me!)
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (from my mom – already read it and LOVED it!)
  • Plus One by Elizabeth Fama (currently reading – it’s interesting so far)
  • Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (I haven’t even read book 1 but it was super cheap)
  • Eon and Eona by Alison Goodman (DRAGONS)
  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge (I had an ARC, but never read it because I knew I wanted a finished copy. And now here it is!)

I also have a few books coming in next week that I ordered, so I’m anxiously awaiting those as well. When they come in, I think I’ll be set for my reading for at least two months! Probably three ๐Ÿ˜€ Honestly, I don’t even have a burning desire to read any specific one,ย because I want to read them all equally! So I’ve got plenty to choose from, whether I’m in a contemporary, sci-fi, or fantasy mood.

photo-3My mom also surprised me with the TFiOS soundtrack – *melts again*. It’s so perfect for the entire mood of the book; I still haven’t seen the movie, but I’m sure it’s perfect too. SO. MANY. FEELS. Especially track 5 (I don’t even know the names yet), and I love Boom Clap. I turn it way up when I’m driving to work every morning.

I also splurged and bought the disc (I had rented it from iTunes before) of Ten Inch Hero. I first watched it for Jensen Ackles, but it’s actually a really good movie! If you love cheesy, indie-ish, goofbally feel-good sorts of movies. It gives me the warm fuzzies โค

In other news…

  • I love all of you. Seriously โค All my birthday wishes on twitter and on my blog were the sweetest things to read all that day!
  • It’s blazing hot here in California – it’s been a solid 100F all week, and nastily humid on top of that. I’ve resigned myself to being what I call “permanently damp” for the next three months – I’ve just not stopped sweating. Thank God for air conditioning and fans!

In case you missed it, last week I…

What’sย comingย up this week?

  • Monday – Review:ย Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton (reread review)
  • Tuesday – First blogoversary celebration and international giveaway!
  • Wednesday – Saturated Reads: Ronan and Kavinsky from The Dream Thieves
  • Thursday –ย 30 YA Books that Changed My World
  • Friday – Review:ย The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Hope you all have a good week!

31 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 34 (July 6) – The Birthday Book Haul

  1. Ooh, you have such pretty books there. *drools a little* And so many hardbacks? Hardbacks look GORGEOUS. I think I prefer the actual reading of paperbacks, but on my shelves? I’d pick hardbacks all the way. x) And the TFIOS soundtrack is awesome from what I’ve listened to so far. Birdy song is my favourite. x)

    • I know!!! They’re much cheaper if I get them on Amazon, so I was able to get more this time ๐Ÿ˜€ I love reading hardbacks – it just love the solidity of them. AND they look good on my shelf!

    • Thank you! Ah a concert sounds nice ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d have loved to go to a movie or something, but all the crazy people come out at night on the holiday so it was better to stay in anyway.

  2. Is Winner’s Curse one that starts out slow and then picks up? I just couldn’t get into it for some reason. Also, Free to Fall is really good! I was lucky to read it pre-release and loved it. I haven’t read The Treatment yet, but I read The Program recently.

    • Mmmm I guess you could say that, but it’s the kind of slow where it’s nice because you get to learn about the world and immerse yourself in the culture. The really slow starter I recently read was the Burning Sky ๐Ÿ™‚

      Glad to hear Free to Fall is good! I’m looking forward to reading it next weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ I probably won’t get to the Treatment any time soon, but I’m glad to have it on my shelf for when the whim strikes me.

  3. I got The Winner’s Curse this week too but haven’t started it yet so it’s nice to hear that you liked it! I’ve heard so many great things about Everything Leads to You (also, that cover!) so I can’t wait to see what you think! And I haven’t listened to the entire The Fault in Our Stars soundtrack but I do love Boom Clap. I find it’s great whenever I need some extra energy.

    • It was SO good! It’s one that really grew on me; I love it more now a week later than right after I finished it.

      YES! I just couldn’t resist that cover anymore. I had to have it ๐Ÿ˜€

    • *flails* I texted you I’m sorry it was so late I was thinking add one hour because that’s where Veronica is right now but it was add three and whoopsies I think it was like 2AM for you but GAAHHHH READ THAT ON YOUR VACATION IT’S MAGICAL MIRANDA PURE MAGIC

      • Haha no worries! I told you I leave it on vibrate ๐Ÿ™‚ I was asleep, but I didn’t even hear it, so you’re totally fine! So glad you loved it and now I’m SO excited to read it!! It’s probably going to be the first one I pick up now that you’ve raved about it so much ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I just ordered her other two books as well (could NOT resist), so we’ll see how those go as well ๐Ÿ˜€

        AAAHHHH feel free to live text/tweet me when you read it!!

  4. I’m not American, but who doesn’t celebrate Independence Day? So here’s to me saying “BELATED JULY 4TH!” haha. I’d love to see some fireworks again. It gets crazy over here in Manila on New Year’s Eve as that’s where people go all-out with fireworks (and I’m talking about some people going $1 million worth of fireworks… well, it’s good for watching on my end anyway!). I see you have a lot of books in your arsenal~ I can’t wait to read your reviews of some of them, particularly the Winner’s Curse + Eon/Eona!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • That’s $1 million in… pesos? That’s your currency, right? You know, for all the non-Western lit classes I took, they really didn’t help for anything present day. *looks up conversion rate* HOLY CRAP that’s still a huge amount in American dollars! Jeeeese we’re not that dedicated we get a few sparklers and some fountains with a mortar here and there O_O

      The Winner’s Curse review is scheduled for… oh hey look – this Friday! Derp xD I flail a lot in that review

  5. Independence Days in the U.S. always look so fun because — FIREWORKS! Our National Day isn’t as hyped up as July 4th; my family and I don’t even celebrate it most of the time, lol. The huge fireworks are too expensive, and those are the ones really worth playing with. So we just laze around at home and do our own thing. ๐Ÿ˜› And oh my gosh, your birthday haul! SO MANY PRETTIES. Not sure how many of them you’ve read already other than TWC, but I can’t wait to hear what you think about Everything Leads to You, Free to Fall (Lauren Miller’s Parallel was one of my favorite reads last year), and Love and Other Foreign Language (that’s one helluva title)! So far all of these have been getting really good reviews, so I hope you enjoy them, too.

    Hehe, I love Boom Clap as well — it’s weird, because I’m not really into Charlie XCX’s music (the only other song featuring her that I liked was I Love It by Icona Pop), but the beat is so catchy. Are you planning to watch TFiOS anytime soon, though?

    Have an awesome week, girl!

    • Have no fear! TWC I loooooovveedd (review this Friday) I just finished Everything Leads to You (oh my feels – happy tears abound), I’m reading Free to Fall this weekend coming up, and I think I’m starting Love and Other Foreign Words tomorrow.

      Boom Clap is the only song I’ve listened to from Charlie XCX – I didn’t even know who that was before the song xD

      Ahhhhh I don’t know! I really really want to see it, but I’m going to be a weeping mess and I don’t know if I want to do that in public. Like, full on ugly sob.

  6. Well, if you’ve gotta break a ban, might as well break it spectacularly! And I have serious grabby hands for all of those books! You need to read Love and Other Foreign Words! It’s so, so cute and fun and all the happy things! I also really liked Uninvited, like way more than I anticipated, so I hope you like that as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you have a great week Kayla, and try not to sweat too much!

    • Right?? So glad you see it that way too! I think I’m actually going to start Love next! I’m back in a contemporary mood ๐Ÿ˜€ Okay good to hear you liked Uninvited; I’ve heard some iffy reviews, so I was a bit nervous to buy it, but I went with my gut and I hope it turns out okay ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Aahhh. You’re so lucky! So many pretties! *grabby hands* I wish people would know to just give me books or GCs. Lol. And the TFiOS soundtrack! I love that so much. I want to buy it but I still haven’t figured how to use iTunes (I use android). ๐Ÿ˜› I’m so glad you had a wonderful time! ๐Ÿ˜€

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

