Read It Again Review: Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton

Title: Some Quiet Place
Author: Kelsey Sutton
Genre: YA, paranormal, romance
Publisher/Publication Date: Flux / July 8, 2013
How Did I Get It? Bought it
Format? Paperback

Synopsis from Goodreads: I can’t feel sadness, anger, or fear. I can’t feel anything. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions . . . she sees them in human form. Longing hovers around the shy, adoring boy at school. Courage materializes beside her dying friend. Fury and Resentment visit her abusive home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, except beautiful Fear, who sometimes torments her and other times plays her compassionate savior. He’s obsessed with finding the answer to one question: What happened to Elizabeth to make her this way?

They both sense that the key to Elizabeth’s condition is somehow connected to the paintings of her dreams, which show visions of death and grief that raise more questions than answers. But as a shadowy menace begins to stalk her, Elizabeth’s very survival depends on discovering the truth about herself. When it matters most, she may not be able to rely on Fear to save her.

Amazon | Barnes and NobleBook DepositoryGoodreads

I’ve actually read this book once before, and reviewed it back when The Thousand Lives was but a wee blog with a writer who had no idea what she was doing. So now that Where Silence Gathers (the companion novel) is being released tomorrow (go get it!), I thought I’d reread SQP and review it again to spread the word a bit more! I was actually approved for Where Silence Gathers on NetGalley… but screwed up and let my copy expire. So now I have to wait, and I can’t wait to see where the rest of the series goes. But let’s get back to Some Quiet Place…

My feelings about the book are exactly the same as before – so huge points to Kelsey for making her book so rereadable! I still think it’s one of the most unique ideas I’ve ever read. I’m not a huge paranormal fan (but I’m getting better at that), so for me to say that I loved it is pretty high praise. The concept of personified emotions and elements is so intriguing! And I thought that Kelsey did a great job at making Elizabeth truly emotionless – I was easily able to track her barriers crumbling down as she felt more and more.

The shining factor of this book though, was Fear, and his relationship with Elizabeth. Fear is a complex character – mysterious, passionate, almost frightening at times (derp – he’s supposed to be terrifying). He has such an electric personality, and he jumps out every time he’s on the page. Not to mention the fact that he’s pretty stinkin’ hot. As Elizabeth and Fear encounter all the issues of the past that were buried, I couldn’t wait to see what would happen to the two of them. And the ending… ❤ I loved it!

The one thing I would complain about is that the middle part of the book had me confused at times, like it was really fuzzy. The plot blurred a bit for a few chapters, but I finally figured it out. Other than that, I really don’t have too much to complain about!

So if you’re interested in a unique idea, a mystery-filled plot, two well-written main characters, and a sexy romance, this book might be for you! Go out and support Kelsey, especially as this is her debut, and her sophomore novel is released tomorrow!

My Final Rating:

Four stars

5 thoughts on “Read It Again Review: Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this one since it came out! I just love the idea of emotions personified. And it’s such a great recommendation to hear that you liked it just as much the second time around. Eek, with the second one coming out, I need to kick my butt into gear! Great review, Kayla!

  2. I’m not a big fan of paranormal either, but this one definitely looks intriguing. I don’t think I’ve seen many like this. Or maybe I haven’t seen any at all. That cover is beautiful, but kinda creepy. Then again, one of the main characters IS named Fear. 😛

    • It’s so unique, even in the limited paranormal books I’ve read 🙂 Ahhh the cover is what drew me to the book in the first place! Also: Where Silence Gathers has an even cooler cover 😉

      Fear isn’t all that scary actually! Apparently he smells like strawberries (and terror, but forget that part :P)

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap 35 (July 13) – The Birthday Book Haul (Part TWO!) | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

