Saturated Reads: Kavinsky and Ronan of The Dream Thieves

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia, and I have a type that connects emotions with colors. Every Wednesday, I’ll pick a book or character, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book/character. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

This week, we’re switching it up on The Saturated Reads! Instead of an entire book, I’ve chosen two characters for this week, both originating from… The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – Joseph Kavinsky and Ronan Lynch.

What colors do I associate with the book?

Kavinsky and RonanWhat I found interesting about these two characters is that they share the gray. Kavinsky to me is acid green and ash, and Ronan is a pure white and ash. Maybe it’s the color pills that Kavinsky pops in the book influencing me, but acid fits him perfectly. It’s bright, volatile, in-your-face, and possibly dangerous. I see Ronan, despite his dark attitude and humor, and all the moodiness and general grumbling, as a bright white. There’s infinite possibilities and potential for him, depending on how he uses his ability and what choices he makes.

Now the ash… I don’t know where that came from. I don’t know what it means, or really why I see it for both of them. All I know is, it’s there. Anyone want to go full psychologist on me and pose your theories – go for it!

Does the cover match my colors?

In this case, the cover sort of matches. I’m taking that as Ronan on the cover (hullo – the ravens plus the shaved head = Ronan), and while it is more of a blue toned darkness rather than a grey toned like the ashy color in my palette, I think it still fits very well. Plus, the white! So while the cover may not match Ronan specifically, I think the cover is perfect for the tone of the entire book, since there are five MCs after all.

I don’t really care if the cover matches Kavinsky or not, because 1) I’d like to smack him, and 2) he’s a secondary character anyway. I just thought it was a characterization well done on Stiefvater’s part that I experienced the colors so vividly.

What do you think of the colors?

If you have any books (or even characters!) that you want to see Saturated, leave a comment below! Check out my GoodReads shelf to see what I’ve read. 

17 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: Kavinsky and Ronan of The Dream Thieves

  1. I personally don’t enjoy the covers much simply because of what I think is too much white space. I think the art is gorgeous but it looks a little too simple for me. I don’t have a picky itch when it comes to colors but I do get annoyed by the littlest things!

    • Oh that’s funny! I actually love all the white space 🙂 I love the artwork for its simplicity, and when you look really close it’s like you can see the little paint strokes in the artwork.

  2. Haha. That acid green is such a perfectly obnoxious color for Kavinsky. (Fun fact: I had a huge disconnect reading To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before when they would call Peter Kavinsky!)

  3. I agree with this 100%! I’ve never liked Kavinsky, so acid green suits him pretty well… Though I think I’d call it “vomit green,” because that’s how much I dislike him, lol. But at least he was entertaining to read about, even if I didn’t like his character. 😛 And oh my sweet Ronan. I hated him in The Raven Boys, but he really grew on me in The Dream Thieves. Maggie’s such an awesome writer. While I think the white is a little too pure for him, I agree with your explanation. There’s still so much to his character, unlike Kavinsky, who’s just a plain ol’ son-of-a-bitch. I honestly can’t wait to see more of Ronan in the last book. And Gansey, too! GANSEYYYY.

    • Vomit green will work too! All the ugly greens go to Kavinsky 😛 He definitely made the book interesting, even though I wanted to punch his lights out.

      Ronannnnnnn ❤ I get so many feels from him and Gansey's friendship. I need to read it again!

  4. Oh wow this is such a cool post! I have a friend who associates emotions with colors too and I’ll send her this link! I read this book too long ago to remember much from it, but I like how the cover semi-matches minus the green 🙂

  5. I’m hopeless at associating things with colours. My sister would probably be better at it because she’s an artist. x) Buuut, I DO love TDT cover, especially all that white space. I think it’s perfect. I definitely can see Ronan as white. He has SO much potential and he’s so awesome…just angry. Ohhh, Ronan.

  6. What a fun idea. Have you read Ultraviolet if you’re talking synesthesia? Its a really fun read. I had no idea what was coming!

    Definitely agree on your colors for the Raven Boys.

  7. I’ve only read the first book, but I remember Ronan very well – your color palette is very interesting as I would have thought him to have darker shades, but your reasoning about his potential makes so much sense!

    And I have a request – I would love to see a Saturated Reads for Throne of Glass!

    • I would have put darker shades on him from the first book two; it’s really the second book where these colors come from 🙂

      OOOHHHHH AND I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT COLORS THAT BOOK IS TOO. DONE AND DONE!

  8. I think these colors fit the characters so well. I can totally see the ash for both boys and I like how it’s in the middle because it’s like they both come at it from different directions – if that makes sense at all.

    I think white fits Ronan so well, even though it seems counter-intuitive because of his moodiness. Maybe I’m influenced by the cover but it makes sense to me 🙂

    Also, I love these books so it’s so much fun to see them through a different perspective like a saturated read!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Recap 35 (July 13) – The Birthday Book Haul (Part TWO!) | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

