Weekly Recap 35 (July 13) – The Birthday Book Haul (Part TWO!)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! Yet another busy week at work, but at least it makes the time pass quickly! But I get Friday through Tuesday off, so I spent all Friday being a general waste of society and marathoning Netflix shows. But hey – I’ve got a bunch of posts scheduled for next week and I read some really great books, so really what is the downside here?

Stacking the Shelves

And the book ban breaking continues! Some of the books I preordered, or ones that didn’t show up till this week, finally came in, and I think I may be excited more than last week??

photo.PNG

 

Aren’t they pretty??? After I fell in love with Nina LaCour’s writing in Everything Leads to You, I had to get her other two books, Hold Still and The Disenchantments. And after Jo’s rave review, I had to get There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos. BRING ON THE FEELS. And to satiate the sci-fi/fantasy/paranormal side of me, I preordered three books that were released on the 8th: Four (Veronica Roth), Midnight Thief (Livia Blackburne), and Where Silence Gathers (Kelsey Sutton). I NEED MORE TIME IN MY WEEK TO READ ALL THESE BOOKS. IT’S A SERIOUS PROBLEM.

In other news…

  • It’s still blazing hot in California. Though it was nice (nice meaning like 90F with a breeze) on Friday – at like 8 in the morning. I didn’t go outside after that. I think I need to start carrying around a cup of ice with me wherever I go.
  • Last Sunday, in my never-ending attempts to manage the thyroid issue my doctor won’t quite call hypothyroidism because it’s “on the border”, I’ve started the Paleo diet. Lots of veggies and fruit over here! I had already gone gluten-free, so it wasn’t horribly painful, but OH MY GOD I MISS DAIRY. SPECIFICALLY MILK. But other than that, I actually don’t miss sweets all that much. Sometimes I want a chocolate chip or two, but it’s easy to ignore that. And I have a lot more energy, and I’m sleeping better. So – week one is a success! Oh, and I lost four pounds since I went gluten free, so now adding the Paleo thing I’m pretty sure I’ll finally start seeing some progress.

In case you missed it, last week I…

What’s coming up this week?

  • Monday – Review: Plus One by Elizabeth Fama
  • Tuesday – Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movies and TV Shows
  • Wednesday – Saturated Reads: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens
  • Thursday – Discussion: I’m a Forgiving Reader
  • Friday – Review: Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Hope you all have a good week!

15 thoughts on “Weekly Recap 35 (July 13) – The Birthday Book Haul (Part TWO!)

  1. Pssh, if you have the time off and you want to spend it lazing about, then do just that! 😀 I have to admit I haven’t even heard of any of those books but Four… 😮

    It’s boiling hot here in England too, crazy! And that’s good to hear that the diet is helping somewhat. Hope it all goes well 🙂

    • I’ve read three books this weekend – it’s amazing ^_^ I definitely feel more relaxed, especially with the crazy week that’s coming up.

      READ FOUR. I FINISHED IT IN TWO HOURS AND IT WAS JUST PERFECT! I didn’t love the extra scenes (kind of pointless imo), but the four short stories – it would have been less painful to be stabbed.

      We better get a proper winter after all this nastiness O_O None of that 70 degree stuff in January. Yeesh.

      • I haven’t read Allegiant yet – I’m guessing I should read that first? To be honest I don’t think I’m quite as crazy over the series as other people 😛 If I re-read it now my rating would probably be lower than the 4 stars it’s at.

  2. I have a friend who has some weird something… I forgot what it was exactly and I can’t remember if the thyroid was involved or not, but I know she’s done gluten free and now Paleo too and it’s really working for her and she’s having a lot less problems. I hope it continues to work for you too!

    • That’s really encouraging to hear! It feels like it’s been more than a week, but I’m just going to be patient and stick to it for at least a month so I can see some changes soon hopefully 🙂

  3. I hope you’ll come to love There Will Come a Time as much as I did!

    The weather for me is pretty much 90F all year round. What makes it terrible is the humidity more than anything else though. I always carry a bottle of water with me wherever I go. That definitely helps! 🙂

    • I’m thinking of starting it this afternoon actually! I just need to find out why it’s so fabulous 😀

      Oh my god how do you survive that?? That’s pretty beastly Jo O_O

      • I liked it because it was a little different from the other contemp books I’ve read that deal with death. Plus the MC’s a guy and half-Filipino. That earned extra points with me 😉

        Well, it’s the tropics, so I don’t have much of a choice, especially because my parents uprooted my family years ago. But I got used to it and when it’s insanely hot, like upwards of 95F, I remind myself that below freezing temperatures are worse. It helps mentally. Heh.

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

