Saturated Reads: Faking Normal

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia, and I have a type that connects emotions with colors. Every Wednesday, I’ll pick a book or character, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book/character. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

This week’s Saturated Read is… *drumroll please* Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

What colors do I associate with the book?

Faking Normal

Faking Normal 2

To put it in a word: Autumn. It feels like Fall – kind of in hibernation, but still vivid and full of life. I feel like it sums up Alexi’s journey throughout the book – she’s dark browns and dying leaves at first, but then she starts embracing some of her color and wakes up and starts to heal into something brighter.

Does the cover match my colors?

YES OH MY GOD IT’S PERFECT ❤ There’s even some red in her hair. But yesssss it’s just flawless. A+ design!

What do you think of the colors?

If you have any books (or even characters!) that you want to see Saturated, leave a comment below! Check out my GoodReads shelf to see what I’ve read. 

10 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: Faking Normal

  1. The way the colors you chose are able to describe the book’s mood so thoroughly is seriously amazing, and I love how I’m able to see Alexi’s character development clearly through these six colors as well! Looks like this was a cover designed by someone who ACTUALLY read the book and knew what it was talking about, you know, unlike a lot of other YA book covers out there.

    I know how much you loved this one, Kayla, so fingers crossed that I’ll get to read it soon! 😀

  2. Great choices, I think your picks definitely match the book’s meaning and the cover really well. Love your explanation about her growing throughout the book and the colors changing with her, kind of a transition from fall to spring.

  3. I LOVED Faking Normal, and I loved the colors you picked! This was definitely one of those tough journeys on the road to self respect. ❤ (I seriously need to re-read this book sometime. If only if I were as fast a reader as you!)

    • Yay! I’m glad you agree with them! This book means so much more to me after I read it – it’s stuck with me for a while.

      I’m not THAT fast! And if I am, I end up missing pertinent points because my eyes zip around too fast O_O

  4. I was in the middle of drafting a new review when I realized the book would be perfect for this feature! I’m reading the second book in the series, but the first is A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty. There is so much color involved in the book (and also the book cover) so I’d be interested in seeing how you interpret it. I see from your Goodreads shelf that you haven’t read it, but it would be PERFECT. Please consider it!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Jul 13-19, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap 36 (July 20) – Barnes and Noble is Awesome | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

