Saturated Reads: The Winner’s Curse

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia, and I have a type that connects emotions with colors. Every Wednesday, I’ll pick a book or character, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book/character. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

This week’s Saturated Read is… *drumroll please* The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

What colors do I associate with the book?

The Winner's Curse

I’m not sure I really pinpointed the exact colors that I had intended here, but this was the best I could do. Stupid hex picker! This is actually another one that I can’t really understand why they showed up – but they just did. I really thought I could explain why, but

Does the cover match my colors?

Well, I got the pink! Despite the fact that my colors don’t really fit in with the cover, I still think it’s perfect for the entire story. Zero qualms about the whole thing, even the puffy dress! Oh hey look she’s holding a dagger – never saw that before. So, yes, keep the cover = final verdict.

What do you think of the colors?

If you have any books (or even characters!) that you want to see Saturated, leave a comment below! Check out my GoodReads shelf to see what I’ve read. 

11 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: The Winner’s Curse

  1. I absolutely ADORE the cover of this book. So, no, please don’t change it haha. I think it’s interesting that the ones you saw were so bright, yet the cover definitely seems more muted. I love these posts 😀

    • Heck no! Zero changes to this cover 😀 I think the middle color isn’t what I was going for… I was trying to do like a light sky blue mixed with a wheat-green sort of thing. It ended up too minty…

  2. I really like the cover as well, like Miranda. And I don’t know if I could imagine it any other way which I guess is just because I know it no other way. Your picks are really nice and I could imagine them easily suiting the book at the beginning – the glass earrings standing out to me in particular. And I’d feel like they’d be great for the ball as well!

  3. This is such an awesome idea for a feature! 🙂 Those colours look quite nice together, and I think the cover for The Winner’s Curse truly is lovely – though I’ve yet to read it!

  4. I can see why you’d associate those colors! I don’t think I’d be able to pick them out, but I get it. This is such a cool feature! I so agree that the cover is just perfect. It’s pretty and delicate, but it’s got a bit of edge. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Recap 37 (July 27) – In Which I Have Zero Self Control | The Thousand Lives

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Jul 20-26, 2014 | Oh, the Books!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

