Tagged! The Seven Deadly Bookish Sins

Seven deadly sinsThank you Ner @ A Cup of Coffee and a Book for tagging me! I’ve been wanting to do this one and just waiting impatiently for someone to tag me, so thank you for making my day!

Greed

What is your most inexpensive book? Besides books that were gifted to me (yay for free books!), I’d have to say that Fallen by Lauren Kate is probably the cheapest, at $4 from Target. But if we’re talking used, then I found a copy of The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold for $0.50! But I think my proudest “cheap book” is still The Fault In Our Stars – the Barnes and Noble exclusive version for $9 at the same used book store, and in flawless condition.

Wrath

What author do you have a love/hate relationship with? The first one that pops into my head is Aimee Carter. I still can’t believe I finished The Goddess Test – so much wrong with that book. But Pawn was actually REALLY good and I’m looking forward to book two this fall.

Gluttony

What book have you devoured over and over with no shame? Definitely going with Harry Potter on this one. I tell people that I’ve read it about 10 times over, but that’s just to keep a facade of sanity. The reality is that I actually lost count – although I’m guessing it’s probably in the 20s or 30s.

Sloth

What book have you neglected due to laziness? Well, Game of Thrones is on this list for sure. But another one is the second half of The Mortal Instruments, and the Infernal Devices series.

Pride

What book do you talk about in order to sound like an intellectual reader? Well, I actually read a lot of classics in college, and genuinely enjoyed some. But my 100% favorite is Fahrenheit 451, with To Kill a Mockingbird being a close second.

Lust

What attributes do you find attractive in male or female characters? Well see now we have a problem. Because while I’m ATTRACTED to the dark, brooding, mysteriously sexy tortured boys (a la Dean Winchester), I’d never actually get along with them. Too whiny once they start opening their mouth and stop leaning sexily against shadowed door frames. The ones I really fall for are the boys next door – sweet, a bit goofy, quirky, genuinely good, hopeful, and happy people (case in point: Jase Garret and Peeta Mellark and Levi of Fangirl (does he have a last name?) and Cricket Bell). My heart just melts and all my cynicism goes POOF when one of those walks onto a page.

Envy

What book would you most like to receive as a gift? This totally came at the right time: I was at Barnes and Noble the other day and they had just completely changed their stock around and LO AND BEHOLD sitting there begging for me to buy it was More Than This by Patrick Ness. I’ve never read a book by Ness, and I really really want to start with this one.

And now for the tagging!

I’m going with… Aimee or Dyan (or both of you!) @ Deadly Darlings, Kristy @ Book Nerd Reviews, and Lesley @ Books and Beautiful World. Go forth and list your sins ladies!

21 thoughts on “Tagged! The Seven Deadly Bookish Sins

  1. Oohh… I love reading tags. I’ve never been tagged for anything but they do always look like a lot of fun.

    Okay yes – Goddess Test was not great but so glad I read Pawn because I LOVE the Blackcoat Rebellion series so far. And how great are you at second hand book buying!

    Also – just finished watching S9 Supernatural… and your Dean Winchester mention… oh my. Okay.

    All of your sloth books are similiar to what I’ve been putting off 😛

    • WELL THEN WE MUST REMEDY THAT! I officially *tag you* 😀

      It’s almost like two different authors wrote them O_O I seriously could not see how they were by the same person.

      Bahahaha YES THANK YOU. S10 is going to be the death of me

  2. Whoo! Thanks for the tag, Kayla! ❤

    Hooray for used bookstores and sales! I go on a rampage and turn into a monster when my favorite bookstore has a sale. 😀 $0.50?? Whoa!

    I haven't read any of Aimee Carter's books yet, but both of those you mentioned are on my TBR. 😀 I actually tried to read The Goddess Test and ended up getting bored after the first five pages…

    I still haven't completed the HP books. 😦 Books 1-3 were really good though, and the fourth movie was my favorite, so I need to continue ASAP!

    Hahaha, I definitely agree about Game of Thrones! That book is a behemoth!

    Ah, classics. I've never finished one (I always end up falling asleep at some point), but I'm close to finishing The Merchant of Venice by Shakespeare!

    And yay, my favorite guys are the boy-next-door type, too! "Dark" and "tortured" heroes can drown in the ocean for all I care. xD

    Oooh, let me know what you think about More Than This. 😀

    • Yeah I’d say skip Goddess Test and go straight to Pawn – it’s 10x better! Oh my word Aimee. GET ON IT NOW!!! Book 4 is amazing, and book 7 is just *speechless* So much good

      I have the mass market (I think) and it’s like 750 pages O_O It’s a beast just to hold that thing, much less read it!

  3. Ahhh, this is an awesome tag and I hadn’t seen it go round before! 😄 And that’s quite fine for dudes like Dean Winchester…more for moi. *snickers and hugs all the bad boys close* I’m also neglecting GoT purely due to laziness. Gosh, the commitment I’ll need to tackle that. PHEWF. Those books are the size of small continents.

    • Well then I tag you as well 😉 Honestly I tag anyone who wants to do it; I’m just lazy in getting all the links and such.

      *grabs Dean back* Well maybe I’ll keep him as a brother 😉

      I think I’ll need a week just to get through one of the GoT books… which is strange since Heir of Fire is only 200 pages less and I’m about to inhale that sucker like it’s a pie eating contest and I’m aiming for the $1000 prize. I’ll be like that Johnny 5 robot 😉

  4. Pride! Hahaha. Rarely do I associate intellectualism with pride but I guess for me it’s got to be Flaubert’s Parrot by Julian Barnes. Studied in school for literature, so there’s a lot to be said on my part. Even better that it’s a postmodern text, so there are a lot of concepts I can tap on 😉

    • KEEP IT THAT WAY. I had a certain person in my life that was pretty elitist when it came to intellect. I just wanted to clobber him sometimes.

      Eurgh I hated post-modern stuff. I had to sit through an entire class on post-colonialism and I about knocked my brains out. My favorite is probably the Romantic era of American Lit… I think. But really I just love poetry of any country or stage ^_^

      • Awww. Such a waste. Pomo stuff was very thought-provoking for me during Language Arts classes and Literature as well. I guess it helped that post-colonialism was covered during Social Studies and History, such that pomo in LA & Lit was a lot more about the ideas.

  5. Wow, it’s so awesome that you’ve read the Harry Potter books so many times! That’s actually so impressive! I’m just starting on my first reread, I just finished the first book and I’m really intimidated by the books to come. I know it’s silly because I’ve already read them once but that was all before I started blogging! Now that I have so many more books on my TBR, I’ve grown kinda wary of longer books and dang, the fourth, the fifth and the seventh books are LONG.

    And haha I love your answer to Lust. I’m kinda the same, I like those tall, dark and handsome broody guys but I feel like being honest, the boy next doors would be totally for me! And Jase and Cricket <333 So much love for them!

    • I guess that’s what happens when it’s the only thing you read 😉

      I just had to be really honest… I love looking, but the bad boys need to stay in their pages for the most part 😛

  6. This looks like such a fun tag! $0.50 is *amazing* … !!! I definitely agree with you on the attractive characters front. Dark brooding Gale-types are great for, as you brilliantly put it, “leaning sexily against shadowed door frames”, but really – Peeta-type for the win!

  7. Game of Thrones, for sure.Those books are really hard for me to get through, not in a bad way but I guess I have no motivation because they so epic. So I spend my time watching the show instead xD Plus you raise a very important question… DOES Levi have a last name?? O.O

    • I CAN OFFICIALLY SAY YES LEVI DOES HAVE A LAST NAME. It’s in the Q&A at the end of the UK Special Edition of Fangirl.

      *drumroll please*

      It’s Stewart! Levi Stewart 😀 *cue the fangirling*

      • Baha! Nice 😀 That’s pretty cool, it would have bothered me otherwise 😛

  8. I always thought the sales here were crazy cheap, but then looking at how much you got The Lovely Bones and the exclusive edition of TFiOS… TAKE ME TO AMERICAAAAA. Yup. And I’m both amazed and proud of you for reading HP that many times. I’ve only probably read it around twelve times, and I was already proud of that number. Okay, gotta catch up with you! Still haven’t done this year’s re-read yet, so I’ll have my chance then. 😀

    Haha, I know what you mean about TMI. I haven’t even read the first book yet and I’m kind of dreading needing to read through all six books — what if I don’t like them?! Better to just be lazy and put them off for now, lol.

    I loved To Kill A Mockingbird! Probably my favorite classic ever, unless Harry Potter counts. It really surprised me. I expected it to be one of those boring history-like books about racism in the South, but it blew my mind. And of course, it does make me sound smarter when I talk about it. xD Still need to read Fahrenheit 451, though. Good to know that it’s your favorite book ever!

    Oh, Kayla, you and your bad boys. Tut, tut. There might be a certain charm to them, I guess, but yeah, I don’t think I’d be able to stand them in real life either. Their constant brooding would just make me depressed and we’d be in the unhealthiest relationship ever. I love nerdy boys the best. Those with glasses, ruffled hair, always carrying a book around. Oh, oh, and if they have a coat with elbow patches — EVEN BETTER. *swoon* Have you read Anna and the French Kiss? Apparently the love interest, Etienne, is one of those quirky and happy guys — just your type. 🙂

    Asti’s raving about Patrick Ness’s books has kind of made it impossible to NOT want to read at least one of them, let’s be honest. 😉

    • *flies you out to Cali pronto* There we go 😀 Oh my god I so need an HP reread. It’s been way too long!

      I actually did like the first three TMI books – at least read those. Especially since it was originally just a trilogy, so those three books are like a contained story without any cliffhangers. I don’t feel any pressing need to read book 4 to answer questions 🙂

      I know, I know. I’m so weak when it comes to bad boys! I’d totally be the same – it would be like the house of depression and angst. NERDY BOYS FOREVER!!! AND OH MY GOD ETIENNE – BUT HAVE YOU READ LOLA?? CRICKET BELL IS MY LOVE

  9. Pingback: Weekly Recap 37 (July 27) – In Which I Have Zero Self Control | The Thousand Lives

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

