Saturated Reads: Peeta Mellark

Saturated Reads

A few months ago, I posted about how I wish more authors wrote using color in their descriptions, since I attach emotions and even characters to color. After some discussion on the comment threads, particularly with Kelley @ Oh! The Books, I was pointed to something called synesthesia, and I have a type that connects emotions with colors. Every Wednesday, I’ll pick a book or character, and show a palette of the colors I see or associate with the book/character. Basically, imagine the saying, “I feel blue,” but applied to the entire color spectrum. Hopefully that makes sense!

This week’s Saturated Read is… *drumroll please* Peeta Mellark from The Hunger Games.

What colors do I associate with the character?

Peeta Mellark

These were Peeta’s colors even before I finished Mockingjay and Katniss calls him her dandelion boy. But I’m so glad that Collins did that, because the way she described Peeta is so spot on to his colors! Peeta is a field of sunflowers on a breezy summer day – warm and earthy and gentle and safe.

Does the actor match my colors?

Lemme just say it right now: Josh Hutcherson IS Peeta. He’s captured the nuances and personality of the character so well that the two are irreversibly intertwined from here on out. Also: that quote is one of my favorites that he’s ever said.

What do you think of the colors?

If you have any books (or even characters!) that you want to see Saturated, leave a comment below! Check out my GoodReads shelf to see what I’ve read. 

21 thoughts on “Saturated Reads: Peeta Mellark

  1. Oooh I don’t think I realized that this carried over to characters as well! That’s neat. And how perfect that the colors you picked match Collin’s description of him?! I love reading these synesthesia posts you and Kelley write. It’s so interesting!

    • It doesn’t happen quite as often, but sometimes people give me REALLY strong colors that I can’t ignore 🙂 Peeta was probably the first one that I remember realizing that he had a color – it’s just taken me a while to put the post together 😉

  2. Perfect choices, Kayla! And Peeta… Ah, he’s way too adorable. I can’t wait for Mockingjay part 1! I’ll admit, I wasn’t a big fan of Hutcherson in the first movie, but in Catching Fire? I got attached to the entire cast. ❤

  3. Josh Hutcherson was such a great Peeta! The two are definitely intertwined for me now as well. I don’t think I could go back and read the books now and NOT picture Peeta as Josh. And the colours you pictured work really well with the character! That is so cool!

  4. I agree that Josh = Peeta! How awesome the colors matched for you! Like Asti said, I had no idea that this was also something you did with characters!

    • The hard thing about characters (and actually book covers) is that I don’t really think about the colors and identify them – they’re just there. But Peeta’s always been a really bright yellow for me, with the rest being secondary 😀

  5. This is such a fantastic post! I’m so interested in how you’ve used your colour synesthesia to make this series of posts (is this the first?) and think you’ve done such a good job! This was absolutely great, and I immediately decided to follow your blog after reading it! xx

  6. Pingback: Weekly Recap 38 (August 3) – MOAR BOOKS (And a giveaway winner!) | The Thousand Lives

  7. I think your colors fit Peeta perfectly! And I’d forgotten Katniss called Peeta her dandelion boy – such a cute phrase – I need to find one of those for my own. 😀 I agree that Josh has captured Peeta perfectly – it’s so funny how quickly he has replaced the image of Peeta I had in my head!

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!

