Weekly Update 19 (March 23)

Well hello Sunday my old friend. I can’t believe another week has passed again! And once again, I kind of broke my book buying ban. But for good reason!!! My local used book store is going out of business (so sad 😦 ) , and the good news is that everything was 50% off. So I found three fantastic books for $15!

photo 1

A hardback version of Earth Unaware by Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston, the first book in the series about the first Formic war (yay for prequels!). And of course, because three copies of one book is CLEARLY not enough, a hardback version of The Order of the Phoenix. So now I have a US paperback, a US hardback, and a 15th anniversary paperback of the book. MY LIFE IS COMPLETE!

Oh and I did get a third book, not pictured, because it’s for my mommy 🙂 The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks, because who doesn’t love imagining Zac Efron falling in love in a bayou after walking with his trusty German Shepherd across state lines?

photo 2

You really thought you could escape this update without me showing off this beauty? YOU WERE WRONG. I’ve watched it five times already ❤ And I’m sure I totally annoy everyone when I sing Let It Go in the shower. But that is a-okay with me!

Other fantastic news:

I had two days off work this week, and I was so productive that I feel like the most accomplished person in the world. I finished two ARCs, I’m halfway through a third, and I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone as well! A very good reading week, if I do say so myself.

I also wrote two full chapters of my novel, and I’ve actually started a wattpad account. If anyone is interested in reading the prologue and chapter one of the story, you can click here and read it 🙂 I do enjoy feedback – any and all is welcome!

I BOUGHT MY TICKET FOR THE LA BOOK FESTIVAL!!! At first I wasn’t going, due to work, but the schedule changed and my weekend was freed up! Rainbow Rowell, Tahereh Mafi, Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo, Veronica Roth – and more – here I come! I’m so excited I cannot contain myself!!!

As I mentioned last week, I’ve really buckled down and focused on getting back into shape. And I’m so proud to say that I’ve lost 2.6 pounds! It’s only a dent in my main goal of 40, but it’s a start. Especially since I’ve had so many issues with hormone levels, it’s a really great feeling to finally be able to see my body working as it should be and letting go of that weight.

Also: I’ve learned not to touch Melatonin anymore. I took half a pill (1.5 grams), and I was so foggy all day Friday. I probably looked like I was hungover. So my lesson has been learned, and I’m locking away the melatonin for good. Sleep will have to come from another source I guess!

If you missed it, this week I:

This week, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the fairytales reworked trend for the Alternate Reality Giveaway, sharing my top five bookish resolutions, taking a survey with Veronica and snarking at her answers, reviewing Miyuki by Veronica Bane, reviewing The Here and Now by Ann Brashares, and reviewing Far From You by Tess Sharpe. It’s going to be a busy week!

Do you have multiple copies of your favorite books? Have you seen Frozen yet?? Anyone else going to the LA Book Fest? 

Hope you all have a good week!

23 thoughts on “Weekly Update 19 (March 23)

  1. Oh, oh! I sing Let it Go in the shower, too. And I pump it up in the car. Same with Do You Wanna Build a Snowman, except that one makes me teary. :/
    Frozen is just amazing. Except most of my friends can’t stand the songs. 😦
    Too bad for them.

    Serious case of jealousy of the book fest! So many amazing author all in the one place!
    I’ll probably never get an opportunity lack that in Aus, you lucky duck. Enjoy and make sure you post about it! 😀

    • Psh, sing anyway! I started singing in the middle of the mall with my best friend when we passed the Disney store 😀 She refused to look at me for a minute xD

      And of course I will! I’ll try to get good pictures too 🙂

  2. I can’t believe that I haven’t seen Frozen yet!! I feel like I’m less than human at this point. It’s on my Netflix queue, though, so hopefully I can remedy this soon 🙂

    Also congrats on the weight loss! Any progress is good progress! Congrats 🙂

    I don’t think that I have two copies of any of my books…but I’ve definitely been tempted before to buy the hardcover copy if I have a paperback. I think I did that recently with one, but I gave/am going to give (not sure if I forgot to do this) the older copy away.

  3. I’m not a huge fan of the Frozen movie (it’s nice, but nothing really wowed me), but I just ADORE the songs! Especially Let It Go and Love is an Open Door! I totally consider myself a professional shower singer. 😉 And yay for the weight loss! I’m actually trying to gain weight (being underweight is not a happy thing), but it seems that no matter how much I eat, I just don’t get any fats in me! :/ Hope you had a great week and for a better one ahead! 🙂

    • I just really love Elsa, to be honest. She makes the movie for me, just because I can connect with her so much more than some of the other Disney princesses.

      Hmm… That’s strange! I knew someone who needed to work out in order to gain weight; maybe something like that will help?

  4. The prologue/first chapter of your book are really intriguing….when can I read more? I love how Hunter (who I assume will be the love interest…this is what YA has done to me. Any male introduced in a story automatically becomes the love interest lol) has green eyes haha. Love dem green eyes.

    I actually don’t own multiple copies of books unless I already had a copy and someone else bought it for me again or something. As in, I don’t go and buy books if I already own them. I think the only books I have more than one of are THG (since I already owned the trilogy but then my coblogger bought me the boxed set because she thought I should own a set with prettier covers) and Reboot (because I won multiple copies of it).

    • Glad to hear it! I’m actually going to be adding chapter two tomorrow I think. I have all the way through chapter six written, so I’ll be able to add them soon as well 🙂

      I did the same thing with THG! I have all the ebooks, and then I had the first two in paperback, and then I received the box set for Christmas. I ended up giving my older copies to my sister, so now I have the new covers and she has the old covers.

  5. I’ve watched Frozen seven times since I bought it last week. I keep waiting for it to get old but it just… doesn’t. I love it sooooooo much, especially Olaf who is adorable! And by the way, you can never own too many versions of the Harry Potter series and if anyone tells you other wise bite your thumb at them while saying, “I bite my thumb at you sir!” 🙂

  6. It’s so sad when bookstores close down, but sales are definitely good. Or are they? 😛 I don’t really get multiple copies of books. If I get anew Etta, I usually just give them away. 😛

    I keep on singing Frozen songs too, but mostly snippets. I’m not that much into the movie, but when you hear everything so many times you just pick it up. :)) also Do You Want to Build a Snowman makes me cry all the time. :))

    I clicked the Wattpad link and your stuff doesn’t show up. I assume I need an account or something? J know nothin about these things. :))

    And congratulations on losing some pounds. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Comment below and we can fangirl, rant, or cry over whatever it is that strikes our fancy. I truly appreciate each and every comment, and I'd love to chat!